1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support performance is getting worse

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by liquidmonkey, Jul 22, 2013.

  1. liquidmonkey

    liquidmonkey Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    218
    10
    38
    have had my transformer for nearly a year and in the beginning it was snappy fast and buttery smooth.
    now i have 4.2.1 and and in the last 3 months i have noticed a considerable slow down in the following areas,

    - wifi is fast sometimes and painfully slow other times. a reboot usually fixes this though.
    - coming out of sleep mode takes longer now, especially if i turn the screen to landscape or portrait. very weird.
    - google chrome is has become slow too when loading pages already open.

    the good things are that i can read pdf's no problem, check out raw images using a raw app, and playing games is still quite snappy.

    any suggestions to 'speed things up' for me?
    maybe a factory reset?
     

    Advertisement

  2. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    In developer options, limiting the number of background tasks to 4 really does help with things. The only pain is that you have to do it each time the tablet reboots. A factory reset might not be a terrible option either, but I would try limited tasks first and see if that helps out.
     
    Podivin likes this.
  3. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,680
    886
    313
    Jacksonville, Fl
    If it's rooted, you could try wiping Dalvik and cache, that seems like it smooths things out sometimes.
    A factory reset is a near sure way to speed it back up as it will clean everything out, and you may not reinstall every app that's currently on it now. But it is kind of a PITA, so try JHawk's suggestion first, it much less invasive. :)
     
    jhawkkw likes this.
  4. liquidmonkey

    liquidmonkey Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    218
    10
    38
    just want to say thanks for the tips everyone!
    limiting the number of background tasks to 4 has totally sped things up to an acceptable level again.

    here's hoping i never have to do a factory reset :)
     
  5. cruisingwriter

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013

    Aug 8, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    I have looked all through my 700T`s settings, and I do not see"DeveloperOptions." Help please.
     
  6. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    In 4.2.x, Developer Options is hidden. To re-enable it, go into settings->about device and then tap the build number 8 times. That should enable developer options.
     
  7. daldude

    daldude Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013

    Jul 7, 2013
    34
    0
    35
    Are there any other hidden features like this one?

     

Share This Page

Loading...