1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root permanent s-off around the corner?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by scotty85, Jul 26, 2011.

  1. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    flashing this new hboot wont really offer any advantages to what were currently using,but keep an eye on the thread- they are looking into a permanent patch. what this means is that you could accidentally flash a whole RUU and your s-off bootloader will remain in place. having permanent s-off leads to alot of peace of mind :cool:

    Patched hboot 1.04 for s-off/eng/fastboot - xda-developers
     

    Advertisement

  2. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Yeah I saw this last night currently it seems pointless but once it is patched hopefully your lectures will become a thing of the past
     
  3. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
  4. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    i dont think well ever be that lucky ;) while this will save the jackass that accidentaly flashes a whole RUU instead of a radio,it wont stop any of the folks from unknowingly try and accept OTAs while rooted. :eek:

    just think- if it were to become permanently patched,all the crybabies that want the GB ota instead of rooted GB,can have it without any danger. they can flash the whole leak RUU,uncluding the stock recovery and whatever hboot it comes with,and their phone will still be s-off. heck,they could even hboot or fastboot the stock recovery and accept the OTA if they wanted :) once they realize its not much different froyo,all they have to do is hboot or fastboot a new recovery,and flash a rom of choice.

    when i flashed that leaked RUU,i very carefully pulled the hboot and recovery out of it,so clockwork and my eng bootloader wouldnt get "updated". with a permanent patch you wouldnt need to do that :D i love this about my incredible and have been hoping for it with the TB.

    i was under the impression that youd have to be allready rooted,or have an s-off bootloader in order to apply it. but someone asked if this will be a way to root gingerbread. while i dont think it will,im anxious to hear the answer. if theyve found a way to sneek it onto stock,s-on phones,then its even more sweet than i originally imagined :D
     
  5. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    I didn't see a response from jcase to that question either, while it would be awesome if it would allow people to go from stock gb to rooted, I am not going to have my hopes up very high. I can't wait for the OTA for gb to hit and all these people who are wanting it to come realize they didn't have any eyecandy change and start complaining about how they want to root now but can't.
     
  6. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    again,no real benefits yet,but thot id give it a shot,if for no ohter reason to test and give feedback to the dev,if needed:

    [​IMG]

    please note that the version is indeed the shipping 1.04.0000,and not the engineering 1.04.2000.

    i used it to flash jcases kanged clockwork,and flash back to the 627 radios for some testing. worked fine. :)

    also made sure its seen in fastboot,and typing "fastboot oem ?" brings up what looks to be an identicle list of available commands.

    ill prolly leave it a few days and change it back. working fine but i dont like the pink "unlocked" or the "ship s-off"... it was much sexier when it just said "eng s-off" :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...