1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Peter Alfonso Gingerbread 2.3.2 ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rparra14, Feb 10, 2011.

  1. rparra14

    rparra14 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009

    Dec 22, 2009
    26
    7
    16
    Just saw it on his site. Now available at Peter Alfonso.

    -Ryan
     

    Advertisement

    YankeeDudeL, imjehh, fam and 2 others like this.
  2. smacky

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,844
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    2,844
    299
    163
    He says the Droid will never officially get Gingerbread. I dunno where he got this information, but I doubt his statement is factual. VZW nor Motorola has said anything about it as far as I know.
     
  3. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
    sweet! i am about to sell my droid to my roommate (bring on the T-bolt!) and have been looking for a clean Gingerbread ROM to load before i pass it along. this should work nicely, and it is fitting that both the first and last ROM loaded on my device were built by Pete.
     
  4. BenDroid

    BenDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    200
    13
    58
    This should get some things rolling along.
     
  5. BenDroid

    BenDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    200
    13
    58
    Well, I think the general speculation is that the original droid will probably never see an official release of 2.3. If it does, it is no time soon. I honestly have not even read any rumors/discussions of an official gingerbread release. I might be wrong.
     
  6. RoscoeDpG

    RoscoeDpG Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    65
    7
    16
    805
    anyone load this by not wiping data and cache coming from latest bugless?
     
  7. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,889
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,889
    6,120
    1,413
    District of Columbia
    The general consensus is to always wipe, I definitely do. However, if you're switching builds (ie. Froyo to GB) I would most definitely wipe ALL partitions (data/cache/boot/etc).
     
  8. Jeffery

    Jeffery Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    526
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    526
    61
    78
    Marco Island, Florida
    Working great so far, really fast!
     
  9. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    While I've tried just about every other GB ROM out there (and LOVE the CM7 nightlies), I'll give this one a go. I'll see if I can live with a barebones ROM.


    What does that mean? :thinking:
     
  10. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Like a few other GB ROMs, the Home button doesn't work. Restoring back to CM7 nightly Build #33.
     
  11. freddyb

    freddyb Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    29
    0
    35
    Giving it a whirl. My first upgrade since CM6. Home button works fine on my device. GB looks really slick!
     
  12. jdk2

    jdk2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    230
    38
    43
    Male
    Celebration, FL
    Home button works as expected. What didn't work for me was wi-fi. I had to flash a different kernel to activate it. Seems extremely fast and responsive.
    Time will tell.
     
  13. freddyb

    freddyb Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    29
    0
    35
    Which kernel did you use? Link? :)
     
  14. DrDiff

    DrDiff Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    210
    4
    56
    Maintence
    Valparaiso, IN
    Downloaded.... Backup... Install... Boot... Eyebal... GREEN?!?! Its up and running.
    Settings... About Phone...

    Android Version 2.3.2 :)

    Build Number GPA10 :)

    Changed Signature...

    Wyfi works. Everything works. OK My phone doesn't say "Droid" when it boots. But the Eye is there!

    I just wish it had some kind of digital read out on the battery state.
     
  15. fam

    fam Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    287
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    287
    61
    53
    IT\Photography\Illustrator\Auto Racing
    Sylvania, OH
    From 2.5\wiped all to this everything (home etc) work fine...no issues at all....Thus far I love it.
     
  16. BenDroid

    BenDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    200
    13
    58

    I was just saying that Pete usually doesn't release something that has many if any bugs or nonworking elements. Every GB Rom I have personally tried (until Liquids 1.1) had "something" quirky about it.

    Now I have not personally used Pete's bare Rom but from past experiences with his ROMs, they have the least problems and give others a more stable base to build from.
     
  17. DrDiff

    DrDiff Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    210
    4
    56
    Maintence
    Valparaiso, IN
    I prefer the bare bones ROMs. My experience is that they give longer battery life.
     
  18. 1QuickV6

    1QuickV6 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    15
    1
    16
    The only problem I've seen is wired tethering not working. But that has been with all the GB ROMs so far.
     
  19. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    I am coming from Pete's rooted FRG01B. I never wipe data but do the cache and have never had issues (I am to lazy to go through and redo everything that comes with a data wipe. period). Yeah, I know it is not the "general" method to do it this way, but I do.

    anyway, in this build, maybe since it is based on GB, I got put into a boot loop at the animation screen - I tried 3x. So, I just rolled back to my stable solid FRG01B :(

    Pete claims he is doing 1 more version of like 2.3.3 and so maybe I will do the data and cache wipe then rather than now and again right around the corner when he does 2.3.3 as that might then be the last ROM we - D1 owners - get that is close to GB. I dont have the effort to restore data and apps and blah blah just to try it.
     
  20. DrDiff

    DrDiff Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    210
    4
    56
    Maintence
    Valparaiso, IN
    You are rooted... :eek: Why on earth are you still wired teathering? :thinking:
     
  21. 1QuickV6

    1QuickV6 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    15
    1
    16
    Because it works so darned well while I'm at work playing on my laptop ;) . And is uses a lot less battery juice than running the wireless tethering. :rolleyes:
     
  22. William T Riker

    William T Riker Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    476
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    476
    130
    68
    Male
    East Coast USA
    Coming from FRG83 2.2.1, just did a cache wipe and everything loaded up good. Only thing I cant figure is pete used an old version of car home 2.2.1.2, and it was just updated today to .1.4 and it wont find it in the market. Trying to find an apk of it now (if anyone could help?) ... other than that its working great so far with the old kernel no boot loops or freezes yet.

    ** edit well i managed to get it to restore my backup of .1.4 from titanium before I ran petes update. Other than that hiccup, its nice to finally be on GB!
     
  23. Vidfreek

    Vidfreek Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010

    Feb 20, 2010
    35
    1
    16
    Put this rom on this morning and so far its pretty nice, has some quirks though, something definitely wrong with the phone, takes a while after I hit call for it to actually dial and then when I'm done with the call the screen has issues coming back on for me to actually hit end if I'm hanging up, there is a noticeable delay when I hit the power button to wake up from sleep mode or to turn the screen off as well, overall the rom seems semi slow for some reason, will keep it running for a few days to see if these things keep happening
     
  24. Jeffery

    Jeffery Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    526
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    526
    61
    78
    Marco Island, Florida
    One problem I am having is with the light sensor. It takes a long time during a phone call for the screen to illuminate after you take it away from your head. Haven't had this problem with any other GB ROMs. Otherwise, I am very happy with Pete's GB ROM.
     
  25. William T Riker

    William T Riker Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    476
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    476
    130
    68
    Male
    East Coast USA
    LED notifications working for anyone?
     

Share This Page

Loading...