1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Phone bricked and RSD Lite is not cooperating

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Raykuza, Nov 13, 2010.

  1. Raykuza

    Raykuza Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    So I tried to install RubiX 1.6 today, and now I'm stuck at the RubiX logo animation. I try to flash the sbf but I keep getting the instant fail error (7100) that it seems a lot of Win7x64 users get. I have searched high and low and none of the fixes that I've tried work. I run RSD Lite as administrator, I move the sbf everywhere, I renamed it. I even tried the one where you are supposed to replace the garbage characters that show in the error log. Nothing works. Any suggestions?



    I'm trying not to panic, but I think I'm going to need a new phone.:(
     

    Advertisement

  2. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    are you sure you are using rsd 4.8 and NOT 4.7 and are your drivers installed?...i know they seem obvious but they are usually overlooked
     
  3. zane!

    zane! Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    191
    29
    43
    SW WA
    This.

    Do a fresh install of RSD 4.8 and the Win64 Motorola drivers.
     
  4. jxker

    jxker Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    293
    19
    58
    Male
    IT Field Tech
    New england
    use a friends computer who has xp
     
  5. Btros

    Btros Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    593
    81
    78
    Are you sure you were stuck at the rubix boot animation? It takes longer than usual to load the first time. It seems like if the boot animation is there then the install was successful.
     
  6. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    you can be at boot animation and be bricked i have done it a few times ,,,,boot loop
     
  7. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    +1

    +1
     
  8. Raykuza

    Raykuza Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    Thanks for the replies guys,

    I'm sure I'm stuck at the animation. It just keeps repeating the animation after the Rubix cube is almost lined up.

    I'm using RSD Lite 4.8 and I installed the x64 drivers. I did all this last night just in case something like this happened.

    I'll see if I can find someone who still uses XP, but it's not like I can call anyone. :p
     
  9. Btros

    Btros Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    593
    81
    78
    Oh, gotcha. I didn't realize it kept repeating.
     
  10. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    Did you backup first? There are ways to get back into recovery to restore your backup if you did...

    GMB
     
  11. Raykuza

    Raykuza Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    Suppose I did (I don't think I did); how would I go about restoring that? It's not an option that I see when I boot into recovery, though I wouldn't be surprised if I'm missing something.
     
  12. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    You need to get to clockwork recovery, I assume you must have that installed if your were flashing roms. Its on the first page under backup/restore.

    You can try battery pulls repeatedly until it boots into Clockwork. I have heard it may take up to 10 pulls but eventually it will boot into Clockwork. Unfortunately for me I just attempted this on your behalf and it did not work. I tried just plain battery pulls and stock recovery reboots and neither worked.

    Alternately if you let your battery completely die and then plug the device in it should boot to clockwork. This has worked for me in the past but there is no guarantee that it will.

    Wish I had more info but thats a bout it. I did see one guy say he keeps an update.zip of clockwork on his card just for this reason so I will see if i can find that post.

    GMB
     
  13. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Turn off your phone (or do a battery pull/reinsert if needed) and plug the usb cord from your computer into your phone.

    Your phone should power up automatically and boot into recovery.
     
  14. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    I swear something like that was how to do it but I cannot replicate this on my device :( Does it work on yours?

    GMB
     
  15. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Works for me every time.

    I have 4.7.1 Moto drivers and leave my phone in charge mode when I reboot it.
     
  16. Raykuza

    Raykuza Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    Doesn't work on mine. It powers on and goes straight into that lovely bootloop.

    I'm working on finding a computer with Windows XP. The CS department at my school will likely let me use one to install things on, but I haven't been able to ask anyone all weekend.
     
  17. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    if you have access to a linux computer sbf_flash is far more reliable than rsd lite.
     
  18. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,216
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,216
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
    I held home button and powered on the phone. This took me to like stock recovery, then i hit some buttons and it took me to clockwork, then i restored from a backup i had made.
     
  19. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    Can you please define "some buttons" :)

    GMB
     
  20. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,216
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,216
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
    i honestly can't remember, but it was some buttons, maybe search and back or seomthing? idk.
     
  21. Raykuza

    Raykuza Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    The sysadmin for my school's CS department came through for me an got me a machine that runs XP. That haunting Rubik's cube is gone, and I have successfully recovered my phone. Just one more question: Does anyone have any idea what I may have done wrong to make this happen in the first place? I want to learn from my mistakes.
     
  22. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    I love you already :) DO you remember the specific install instructions you followed to install the ROM? It could be possible if you didn't wipe DATA/CACHE something could have caused problems with booting.

    I have also had that happen before if you format system when you are not supposed to although I don't think that would affect the Rubix install because it formats system in the install.

    You may also see the same problem when installing using ROM Manager instead of following the manual install directions...

    GMB
     
  23. Raykuza

    Raykuza Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    I used the All-One-Guide to Rooting that is stickied. After installing 928's black glass theme to deodex my phone, I repeated steps 2-11 like it said, only for the .zip of RubiX 1.6. No ROM Manager involved or even installed.

    I'm new to this whole custom ROM thing (in case you couldn't tell) but I want to start having some fun with my phone without having this happen over and over.
     
  24. Btros

    Btros Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    593
    81
    78
    Like GMB said above you, if you didn't wipe data and wipe cache before installing RubiX, that could have caused the problem. Make sure you read the installation instructions on each specific ROM as well as following the guide you used.
     
  25. Raykuza

    Raykuza Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    Gotcha. Thanks for your help, everyone!
     

Share This Page

Loading...