1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Phone calls/SMS over wifi...is there an app for that?.

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by bluebird48, Jul 31, 2011.

1. bluebird48

bluebird48 Member
    None

Jul 23, 2011
    Hi

I'm fairly new to Android phones and am looking for a free, lite or ad-supported app that supports both phone calls (landline and mobile) and SMS over pure wifi and does not require both parties to have the software installed on their phones. I tried Skype but ran into a lot of issues.

Can anyone recommend an app for this?.

Thanks, BB

Advertisement

2. Goreygirl

Goreygirl Android Enthusiast
    None

Dec 20, 2010
    Female
    Occupational Health Advisor
    Kildare, Ireland
  3. bluebird48

bluebird48 Member
    None

Jul 23, 2011
    Definitely lots of good stuff. The thing is that most (if not all) of them seem to require that both parties have the app installed on their phones. Is there an app that does not have this requirement (similar to Skype)?.

Thanks so much for your help!.

4. Goreygirl

None

Dec 20, 2010
    Female
    Kildare, Ireland
    Fring and Nimbuzz are popular ones; like Skype the call costs to normal lines are minimal and you just load up credit.

5. bluebird48

bluebird48 Member
    None

Jul 23, 2011
    Thanks, I noticed that myself and the two you mention look really good (especially Nimbuzz). Do you know if Nimbuzz has free national calling/SMS and if it requires that both parties have it installed on their phone?.

I think Skype only charges a fee if you make international calls and there is no requirement that it be installed on each phone.

6. Goreygirl

None

Dec 20, 2010
    Female
    Kildare, Ireland
    Don't use them personally as I use Skype PC for my international calls.

But if you click on them in Market they give you a full explanation of their services and costs.

7. bluebird48

bluebird48 Member
    None

Jul 23, 2011