1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Phone contacts and Google contacts

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by notg2009, Jul 29, 2013.

1. notg2009

notg2009 Lurker
    None

Jul 29, 2013
    Hi everyone,
    I'm new to Android and need some help with contacts. I recntly switched from an iPhone to a Samsung Galaxy S4 with Android 4.2.2 not rooted.

I understand that when you create a contact you can choose phone vs google vs etc. but cannot choose both. For instance if I have a phone contact and want it to sync to both my PC AND GOOGLE, then I have to remake the contact, choose google and then join those 2. considering that I have 300+ contacts and adding more every day, is there an easier way to do this?:thinking:

I've searched forums but have not found a clear answer to my question.

Thanks for the help.

NOTG2009

Advertisement

2. Goodspike

Goodspike Android Expert
    None

Dec 28, 2010
    Male
    Seattle
    Why would you want it both places? Your Google contacts will be available on your phone.

3. notg2009

notg2009 Lurker
    None

Jul 29, 2013
    I would like to be able to back them up to my PC as well...have had many nightmares with contacts before!!!

4. killajoe

killajoe Well-Known Member
    None

Jul 21, 2011
    Male
    musician
    Pontiac, Michigan
    Use kies works great for syncing contacts to your computer

5. notg2009

notg2009 Lurker
    None

Jul 29, 2013
    Kies Does not copy google contacts to pc :( it only backs up phone contacts

6. Goodspike

Goodspike Android Expert
    None

Dec 28, 2010
    Male
    Seattle
    I have a program on my PC (Go Contacts Sync Mod) which syncs my Google contacts to Outlook. There are a lot of programs which do that.

Sync Android/Droid with Outlook/Exchange

(I have no idea how current that website is.)

7. Don S

Don S Android Enthusiast
    None

Oct 30, 2009
    Male
    Bayville, NJ USA