1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Phone demands password though not set up to require same.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gmermel, Jul 13, 2013.

  1. gmermel

    gmermel Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    138
    5
    36
    All of a sudden the phone screen went dark and took me to the unlock screen. Except it's requiring a password which is not how I use the phone.

    What the heck? And is there a way to log into the phone without doing a reset? How do I reset given the phone is locked?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,869
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,869
    17,822
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    i'm confused how did a password get setup if you did not......it should not work that way....unless someone did it while you were not looking....LOL

    maybe your carrier can unlock it. i'm not to sure as i never use a password to unlock my phone.
     
  3. Harry2

    Harry2 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,180
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,180
    1,340
    323
    Black Forest
    Not sure, it might work like the pattern unlock, after several unsuccessfully attempts a request for the Google account password will pop up.
    A data connection is needed.

    Harry
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  4. seVer

    seVer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    808
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    808
    144
    103
    Unknown. Previous VZW Tech Support for 7 years.
    what Harry2 said- keep trying until prompted for google account password. the carrier can't help as it's not a carrier issue.

    likely someone messed with your phone, or an app you installed set it. if the latter is the case, your best bet is a full reset.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  5. gmermel

    gmermel Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    138
    5
    36
    Solved. Phonelocater PRO apparaently decided to play a trick on me. The hint was that when I entered a stock password like 1234 I got the app's icon on a screen for like 2 seconds, then back to the lock screen. Using the admin password for the app opened the phone, and resetting the lock screen settings fixed it.

    With my family in Europe AND since it happened when I personally pulled down the notification bar when it locked up if it was someone messing with my phone I'm gonna sell my house.

    That or submit the screenplay. I'd call it "The Phone at the End of the Street", or "Call the Exorcist" or something.....

    Thanks everyone.
     
    ocnbrze and Harry2 like this.
  6. seVer

    seVer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    808
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    808
    144
    103
    Unknown. Previous VZW Tech Support for 7 years.
    awesome. and thanks for posting back so others can learn.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...