1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Phone dialer has stopped working S5

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by rshimizu12, Apr 1, 2017.

  1. rshimizu12

    rshimizu12 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    41
    0
    15
    I have stock unrolled s5 with Android 6.0.1. When I receive a call I get the "phone has stopped working" that keeping appearing. The only way to stop the error message is to restart the phone. This started happening after a upgrade earlier this year. Have resetting the phone and wiping the cache partition. Contacted Samsung and their solution is to send the phone in.. Wiping the cache patition works temporarily. The odd thing is that this is a random problem.
     

    Advertisement

  2. AMOCO

    AMOCO The Computer Guy
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    2,957
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,957
    1,484
    543
    Male
    Computer Tech.
    Colorado Springs,CO.
    Aside you sending your phone in for service,You could re flash the stock firmware.Be sure to remove sim and/or sd card while re flashing as it will wipe them clean.
    And there are guides all over the web.
     
  3. rshimizu12

    rshimizu12 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    41
    0
    15
    Have already done reflashed the phone. I am unconvinced that sending the phone would do any good. It must be some hardware/software conflict. I am wondering if there is a way to reach the code team at Samsung. This seems to be a common problem from the searches I have done before.

     
  4. rshimizu12

    rshimizu12 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    41
    0
    15
    I forgot to mention that the problem did not occur until after the update. Part of the problem is the cell phone hardware companies are interested in updated the software for older devices. They are simply interested in getting you to upgrade.

     
  5. RazzMaTazz

    RazzMaTazz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,392
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    1,392
    498
    173
    Which carrier? Can you find an old version of the firmware and install the older version (that worked)?

    Unless the update was a major OS revision, typically you can flash an earlier version of the firmware. Sammobile is a good firmware repository. There are others.
     
    #5 RazzMaTazz, Apr 3, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2017
  6. rshimizu12

    rshimizu12 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    41
    0
    15
    MetroPCS/Tmobile. Phone started acting up after few updates to Android 6.0.

     
  7. RazzMaTazz

    RazzMaTazz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,392
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    1,392
    498
    173
    I have the Sprint Galaxy S5, and it's rock-solid on Android 6.0.1.

    It looks like the model number for the MetroPCS version of the Galaxy S5 is SM-G900T1 (and it runs on T-Mobile's network). Here are the firmware releases for the SM-900T1 on Sammobile.

    I can't remember if you can simply download an older version of your firmware (as a .zip file) to your SD card and then install it from the stock recovery. (Because I always root my phone and install a custom recovery.) You can get to the stock recovery by simultaneously pressing Volume-Up (not Volume-Down), Home, & then Power until the phone boots.

    If it can't be done that way, then you can install the firmware (as a .tar file) using Samsung's firmware installation tool, called Odin. (That's what I always use.) If you don't know how to do that, you might want to Google it. You could follow steps #2-14 of THIS guide that I wrote for rooting except where it says "twrp-3.0.2-2-klte.img.tar", use the .tar file that you download from Sammobile. Atter step #14, disconnect and reboot.
     

Share This Page

Loading...