1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Phone does a soft reset by itself

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Papoise, May 14, 2010.

  1. Papoise

    Papoise Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    122
    0
    35
    when I'm using my phone for awhile I noticed that it does a soft reset on it's on is this suppose to happen.
     

    Advertisement

  2. V425

    V425 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    347
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    347
    22
    38
    Maryland
    I think a lot of people experience this. I've actually noticed mine reboot when its just been sitting on the table. It doesn't really bother me since an occasional reboot can be a good thing anyway. If my phone did it all the time or when I was in the middle of doing things then it might get frustrating.
     
  3. apollomaker

    apollomaker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    168
    8
    56
    Retired EE, High Tech Marketing
    Northern California
    I have noticed that the USB port is sensitive to connection at times and causes a soft reset. Happened to me last night when I plugged the phone into my PC when the phone was running. It may just be a "feature" of the design. On the other hand, I should not have been switching a hot phone. Not the best of ideas :rolleyes: --- my bad, I guess.

    Anyway, no harm done. I have not been able to duplicate a random soft reset again -- running the Fresh 2.0d ROM.

    Regards :D
     
  4. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    743
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    743
    118
    113
    Male
    Group Sales Associate/Front Desk Clerk
    Washington (state)
    I have had my phone do this as well. No idea at all what causes it as it seems to be fairly random. I always wondered if anyone else's did this though, and now it appears I am not alone. Hasn't caused a problem for me yet at least.
     
  5. xbrokdikdogx

    xbrokdikdogx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    362
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    362
    45
    43
    This usually happens when a piece of the necessary software is not working properly. For example, if you have the messaging widget on one of my Sense screens and you kill the process for the messenger as soon as you leave ATK or whatever task killer you are using it will usually do a soft reset. That was my experience when I was on 1.5 at least. In order to keep the Hero running back then I would use the scenes to separate what I was doing. If I was doing heavy texting, social stuff I used my social scene and wouldn't kill any of those processes. When I didn't need to text so much and was using the phone for games or calling more I had a scene for that and I could kill the messaging stuff and it wouldn't reboot.

    edit: I also wanted to add that Sense and all it's widgets are very tightly integrated, so when running Sense this is much more likely to happen.
     
  6. Papoise

    Papoise Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    122
    0
    35
    Kit thanks for the help I thought something was wrong.
     
  7. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    743
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    743
    118
    113
    Male
    Group Sales Associate/Front Desk Clerk
    Washington (state)
    Hey, no problem Papoise. Sorry I couldn't be more informative about what actually causes it, but hey, sometimes it's good just to know you're not alone. :) Brok, I don't use the scenes, ever, and it's rare when my phone does a soft reset, and I'm on stock 1.5. I also don't use the ATK anymore except to clear my browser, so maybe that's the difference.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...