1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Phone freezes

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CXXV, Feb 19, 2010.

  1. CXXV

    CXXV Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010

    Jan 23, 2010
    252
    10
    38
    I've had to do a battery pull every day for 3 days now. Stupid thing freezes and will not respond to touch.
     

    Advertisement

  2. BoulderAndroidFan

    BoulderAndroidFan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    296
    18
    58
    Multimedia
    West
    It's happened to me once in awhile--maybe every two weeks.
     
  3. KinderwoodLabs2

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010

    Feb 9, 2010
    13
    0
    35
    North Dakota
    It was suggested to me to take the phone in for a complete software reload (not the same as a factory/master reset). I'm not making a claim that it will work, but it makes sense and, if I hadn't already solved my issues via another route, I'd have given it a try. Yes, you will likely lose all your apps, etc. Good luck!
     
  4. AdrianC14

    AdrianC14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    776
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    776
    62
    78
    California
    The OTA update in January should have fixed this issue. I have not had any freezing issues since.
     
  5. mimmic

    mimmic Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    70
    1
    16
    I've been having the same problem. Screen turns on and off just fine but will not respond to touch.
     
  6. falexs

    falexs Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    67
    1
    16
    AZ
    I had the same issue with my original Eris, specially right after a call. I called Verizon and told them about the issue, frequency, what I was doing before and after. The rep was pretty cool about it and sent me a new Eris, he said that they did not have refurbs yet (this was in mid Jan). New one still has the typical issues, but is extremely faster and more reliable than the original.
     
  7. hrbib21

    hrbib21 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    878
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    878
    34
    78
    Pro Desk Driver
    Myrtle Beach SC
    So bring it in or call Verizon and get another.
     
  8. JPYoung

    JPYoung Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    First, you can reset the phone by hitting the Green Phone button, red phone button, and volume up simultaneously.

    Second, do you, by chance, have Good for Enterprise installed and running? I had this same problem when I had to use that for work. I tried to work with Good on the issue, but they were convinced it wasn't them, of course. I went through multiple testing phases with it installed and not installed and the problem was consistent (a few times per day) whenever GFE was on the phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...