1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support phone getting heated up

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by vibhas, Jul 29, 2011.

1. vibhas

vibhas Lurker
    None

Jul 29, 2011
    Hi
    just purchased the samsung galaxy s2 yesterday.
    I am new to android and even samsung.
    I have noticed the back side of my phone getting warm. not very hot but enouh to feel it on your palm or cheeks.
    Is it normal?

Advertisement

2. heshanj

heshanj Android Expert
    None

heating has been a common issue with this phone, on early firmware. getting slightly warm is still normal, but the heating issue has completely cleared up for me after upgrading my phone firmware. which firmware are u running?

click here to find out how to flash a new firmware to ur phone. that should sort it out :)

3. vibhas

vibhas Lurker
    None

Jul 29, 2011
    How to know the firmware version??

4. heshanj

heshanj Android Expert
    None

u can go to settings/About phone and see the version.. or go to ur phone keypad and dial *#1234# and u should see a PDA and PHONE version. it should end with something like KE4 or KE7.

5. lankunit

lankunit Member
    None

Jul 15, 2011
    It is normal for all phones or most to get warm but never too hot to touch. Espcially for such a thin phone like this and dual core technology it is expected for the phone to but warm. Upgrading firmware certainly does help, I'm running 2.3.4 KG2 at the moment (flashed through odin) and I hardly ever notice the warmness now even when playing games.

6. vibhas

vibhas Lurker
    None

Jul 29, 2011
    after executing *#1234# following versions were indicated:
    PDA: XWKE8
    PHONE : DDKE2

Is it the latest version?

7. sjain4

sjain4 Lurker
    None

Jul 21, 2011
    i just updated my phone through kies... and got the following version....

Android: 2.3.3
    PDA: XWKF3
    Phone: DDKE4