1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Phone is hosed

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Granite1, Jul 20, 2013.

  1. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,148
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,148
    7,173
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I have no idea what happened, phone won't make or receive calls, period. I've tried everything, reflashing my Rom, cache wipes, prl/profile updates, I even reflashed my firmware. Nothing.


    Called Sprint with my wife's OG EVO, they did a bunch of epst stuffs, nothing. Phone absolutely will not reconnect to the network. :(

    I'm out of ideas at this point. :(
     

    Advertisement

  2. Reaper351c

    Reaper351c Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013

    Apr 24, 2013
    50
    29
    53
    Male
    Lot
    Colorado
    Have you tried taking the sim card out and putting it back in
     
  3. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,148
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,148
    7,173
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    This phone doesn't have a removable SIM card unfortunately. :(
     
  4. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,231
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,231
    17,147
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    that sucks granite. sorry to hear that. have you tried to take it in yet?
     
  5. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,148
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,148
    7,173
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Nope, I'm on vacation a couple hours from home, and the closest Sprint store is over an hour away. Looks like I'm phoneless until after my vacation. :mad:

    I feel vulnerable without it. :(
     
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Bummer. :(

    If you have your msl, you can do the epst reset from the phone.

    Sometimes they don't get it right when you're talking to them. :(
     
    Granite1 and ocnbrze like this.
  7. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,148
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,148
    7,173
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I didn't think about that EM, good idea. I'll have to dig my msl out. Maybe a good lazy day project. :)
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  8. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    MSL Reader ftw. ;)
     
    Chief YYZ, Granite1, ocnbrze and 2 others like this.
  9. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,148
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,148
    7,173
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ok, manually reset via epst, did a hands free activation, failed again. :(

    But I was able to get a prl and data profile update to take finally. I now have 3G data back, but no calls in or out still. :(

    This is what I'm getting:
    uploadfromtaptalk1374518742817.jpg
     
  10. Chief YYZ

    Chief YYZ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    169
    147
    98
    Male
    Central Illinois
    When I switched to my LTEvo I gave my mom my OG, I kept getting the "network is busy" every time I tried to activate it (the OG.) Sprint customer service couldn't figure it out, I just kept playing with stuff until I finally got it to work. For the life of me I can't remember how I fixed it. I think it was something like changing roaming to Sprint Only and/or turning on then off airplane mode or something else fairly random that didn't really make sense but forced the phone to change the cellular connection. I have been racking my brain trying to remember what I did, but I just cannot recall exactly what it was. I think because it didn't really make sense why it worked...
    Sucks you can't get it working, but hey, who wants to get calls on vacation anyway :)
     
    ocnbrze and Granite1 like this.
  11. -Mike-

    -Mike- Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    370
    191
    68
    Male
    Baltimore
    Refer to my 'Random Weirdness' thread....
     
  12. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,148
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,148
    7,173
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Just got off the phone with Sprint again, they're sending me a replacement. The towers are fine here, and no one else is reporting issues, so they're replacing it, for free. :)

    I guess this one was a lemon from the beginning, just lurking. O well. At least we have S-off for the latest hboot in case it comes with that one. We'll see.
     
    EarlyMon and ocnbrze like this.
  13. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,231
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,231
    17,147
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    nice!!!!!!! i would recommend moonshine as it seems the easiest now....hopefully you will not have to though.......LOL
     
  14. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,909
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,909
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I had the same thing happen to my s3 on Friday.

    I'm seeing a lot of reports of this.

    Very strange
     
  15. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,231
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,231
    17,147
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    did i miss something? when did you get an s3 rxpert? LOL
     
  16. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,148
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,148
    7,173
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Noticed that a little while ago. LOL :D
     
  17. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,909
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,909
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Decemberish?

    I had them both for quite a while, and ended up selling the LTEVO sometime in the spring because it had a screen yellowing defect. My parents also upgraded to the S3, and it was a lot easier providing tech support from 6 hours away when I had one to work with.

    I regret it big time :(. The build quality isnt there, the screen isnt as nice, and the camera isnt as nice. But I can say I tried Sammy. Back to HTC I'll go for the next phone


    Anyway, this is really strange that its happening on multiple devices around the same time. I've seen multiple reports on XDA of this happening to people on the s3 side.
     
    Granite1 and ocnbrze like this.
  18. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,909
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,909
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Arrrgh It just happened again!!! 2 weeks in a row on Friday:eek::thinking::thinking::(:thumbdown:
     
  19. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,148
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,148
    7,173
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    So it's happening to multiple phones?

    I wonder if it's a network thing, or if it's a phone thing?

    I'm home now, and the phone makes calls fine now. I no longer have data, won't connect 3G at all.

    I wonder if Sprint is having provisioning problems?
     
  20. caborobo

    caborobo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    53
    44
    23
    Telecom
    STL
    Similar if not exact same issue with my wife's, wait for it, iPhone 5. Sprint fixed it with an account reset over the phone with a "tech."
     
    Granite1 and Rxpert83 like this.
  21. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,909
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,909
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Yeah they replaced the first 2. I should get the 3rd s3 either tomorrow or Wednesday. I'm not going to do anything other than sign into Google play for at least a week
     
    Granite1 likes this.
  22. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,148
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,148
    7,173
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Got my replacement yesterday, This one connects to the network just fine. No issues with call quality now. :)

    Screen has a yellow tint to it tho. :(

    We'll see what they say when I show the difference with my old one.
     
    ocnbrze and Rxpert83 like this.
  23. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,148
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,148
    7,173
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Got yet another one today. Screen looks a lot better. Also this one doesn't twitch. The other replacement had to have a bad LCD or digitizer.

    This one is working fine for now. I'll test it out for a day or two and then root it. :D
     
    ocnbrze, EarlyMon and Rxpert83 like this.
  24. knickstar90

    knickstar90 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012

    Jun 14, 2012
    18
    10
    38
    NY
    I'm having a weird issue with my phone. I can send text messages but I can't receive them. I still can make calls and 3g works fine. Only issue is receiving texts. I've just been using google voice but its getting annoying (also mms don't work)

    I was on the newest pacman rom when it started two days ago. Went to a stock rom. Still having the same issue. Updated profile and prl but still no texts. :(
     
  25. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,231
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,231
    17,147
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    Go back to a stock rom and call sprint. Have them re-provision your phone.
     
    knickstar90, Granite1 and EarlyMon like this.

Share This Page

Loading...