1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Phone keeps going into Navigation mode

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Mark16q, Aug 25, 2011.

  1. Mark16q

    Mark16q Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    85
    9
    16
    CPa
    Conejo Valley, CA
    When in Nav mode, sense doesn't work and the phone always answers on speakerphone. After lots of messing with the phone realized that plugging into my charger puts it back into "normal" mode and the home button works properly once again/doesn't answer in speaker mode. I've pulled the battery, restarted etc which does nothing. Only plugging into charger gets it out of this mode. It's seems random when it goes back to Nav mode....any idea what's going on?

    tia
     

    Advertisement

  2. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,929
    483
    Are you talking about a Droid Eris? When you say "Nav mode", do you mean that you are using the phone to navigate using the Navigation app from Google Maps, or do you mean something else?
     
  3. Mark16q

    Mark16q Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    85
    9
    16
    CPa
    Conejo Valley, CA
    Yes, this is for the Eris. Not the google maps, but the "Navigator" program that the Eris comes with. It's a little Eris app that puts some big icons on your screen and has the phone answer in speaker mode. Never used it before but it won't go away now.
     
  4. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,929
    483
    Funny, I never saw this before. My Eris is not stock right now, but can you press the menu button and get a menu that includes an exit or quit command?

    The only Navigator app that I have is the Google Maps applet with a blue triangle-ish icon. It looks like a separate app, but, like Latitude, is just another icon for Google Maps.
     
  5. Mark16q

    Mark16q Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    85
    9
    16
    CPa
    Conejo Valley, CA
    I've used the menu exit command and tried any other configuration options in the Navigator program and all same result...pressing the home key does nothing, and waking the phone up from standby brings it to the Navigator program screen along with all calls going to speakerphone. the phone seems to think it's docked or something like that, and I can't find any option to tell it not to go there.
     
  6. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,929
    483
    What I would do is this:

    1. Restart the phone to clear up this problem.
    2. Do not use that Navigator app. If you need to Navigate, you can do so within Google Maps.

    Also, the last few versions of Google Maps are causing lots of problems for people on different phones. If you updated Maps in the market, you could go back to the default Maps app that came with Android 2.1 with the Eris - which still works fine - by going into settings->applications->manage applications, wait for it to refresh, find Google Maps (it may be just Maps) in the list, tap and then tap the button "uninstall updates", if that button is there in the upper right.



    [edit] Ok, I just went back to stock Eris. On my phone, there is no Navigator app. There is a Navigation app in the drawer - this is what comes with Google Maps.

    I think that you may have installed a third party app. Try looking in the Market, menu, My apps, and see if it is listed there, and, if it is, then uninstall it.
     
  7. Mark16q

    Mark16q Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    85
    9
    16
    CPa
    Conejo Valley, CA
    on my stock Eris, there is an app called "navigator" visible if you open drawer on the main screen. There are some old posts here about what it does. Selecting this app gives you a handful of large icons that would be helpful while driving, and also automatically puts the phone in speaker phone mode when it answers.

    As I'd originally posted, I've restarted the phone and pulled the battery numerous times...doesn't fix it.

    Also, I don't use the program, it keeps coming up when I hit the home buttom or wake it from sleep. I've never actually selected the program.

    It's possible this does have to do with the latest maps update, so may try to unintall that and see if it solves this problem.

    Any ideas appreciated.

    Mark
     
  8. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,929
    483
    Aha, now I see it. I think when I restarted stock I didn't wait long enough to see it in the drawer.

    In Navigator, if you go into menu->settings and turn off go into car kit mode, does that help?

    Does it help if you go into settings->applications->manage applications, select Navigator, and click "force stop"? (Click "clear defaults" if that is clickable.) Also, "clear data"?

    FWIW, I can open this app, exit it, press home and go to Sense, and the phone continues to work as normal. I hope those things above help out.

    If not, there is always the drastic factory reset.
     
  9. Mark16q

    Mark16q Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    85
    9
    16
    CPa
    Conejo Valley, CA
    Thanks for the info...I've tried all of that, even reset Sense. It works for awhile, then goes haywire. When I force stop Navigator, pressing home does nothing at all. Plug into my charger and we're good to go again. So some mechanism is seeing the usb port as the signal to go into docking mode, and I can't find it.

    And I'm dreading the reality that may have to do a factory reset. Too busy at work to deal with that now, so limping along with my charger to bring it back to life for now. And hoping something new comes out from VZW soon, as I'm out of contract and ready for new and shiny :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...