1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Phone not updating?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by itscoral, Jan 2, 2013.

  1. itscoral

    itscoral Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012

    Aug 31, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    The update just became available on my phone but every time I try to update it, it says "Installation aborted". My phone is rooted but it's running on stock. It just takes me to this black and green screen.
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. MtnDew31693

    MtnDew31693 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012

    Sep 17, 2012
    56
    12
    18
    Male
    Student
    Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm pretty sure you can't get the update that way if you have rooted your phone.
     
  3. Somarz

    Somarz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012

    Oct 28, 2012
    12
    0
    15
    Male
    Yeah same with me expect I have 4ext recovery. Everytime I tried to install this it always said that i have no idea how to fix it. :(
     
  4. optimusv45

    optimusv45 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    223
    26
    43
    Male
    West Virginia
    the fact u r rooted isnt the issue. Ur custom recovery is the reason why u cant receive update like that. the radio update ? that has to be installed through Hboot, not recovery. U need to be s-off for that to happen.
     
  5. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    If you REALLY want the update there are two options.

    One: RUU back to stock, accept the OTA, then re-root.

    Two: Ignore it, S-Off, and follow the thread saying how to turn your phone into an Evo 3D.

    S-Off is not too hard, the timing is the worst part. I finally did it, and boy. I'm glad I did. AOSP/AOKP Roms are phenomenal. That and I have a better radio/PRI now ;)
     
  6. MtnDew31693

    MtnDew31693 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012

    Sep 17, 2012
    56
    12
    18
    Male
    Student
    Agreed. Easier to just s-off for me
     
  7. richking34

    richking34 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    577
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012

    Jan 24, 2012
    577
    41
    68
    Prinny what kind of wire did you use for s off?
     
  8. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    Two Ethernet cores twisted together.
     
  9. richking34

    richking34 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    577
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012

    Jan 24, 2012
    577
    41
    68
    could you pm a picture?
     
  10. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
  11. MtnDew31693

    MtnDew31693 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012

    Sep 17, 2012
    56
    12
    18
    Male
    Student
    If you have a coax cable laying around the core from that works really well too
     
  12. dizeeStL

    dizeeStL Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012

    Dec 28, 2012
    10
    1
    16
    Male
    St, Louis, MO
    If my baseband is the correct version, is there a reason to unroot just to do this update?
     
  13. jgriner

    jgriner Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    97
    4
    36
    Just use a wire. Any thing that conducts current.

    I went against advice and used a paper clip I just grounded my self before starting.
    (I touched the metal case from my computer its grounded it insured that I wasn't charged with static electricity, that's all u have to do.)
     
  14. josh007cl

    josh007cl Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012

    Oct 15, 2012
    23
    1
    16
    So if you RUU back and go to stock and then do the OTA and then root back using stock rom won't that overwrite the update since you're installing a rom again? Or do you skip the step of installing stock rom as it's already installed?

    Edit: After going through all that it did not save the update. Which does not surprise me since I used the old stock rom in the rooting guide thread.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...