1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Phone problem, need to unroot.. please help!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ejgreen, Aug 6, 2011.

  1. Ejgreen

    Ejgreen Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    35
    2
    16
    Hi,

    My phone is playing up and might need replacing so I really need to unroot it. Currently on coredroid 7.1 and want to get it back to stock htc sense (on orange) I haven't got the first clue how to do it, and don't really understand all the computer jargon (which will explain why I didn't root it, my friend did haha)

    Also, if I sent the phone back to orange will they be able to tell Its been rooted?

    Cheers guys
     

    Advertisement

  2. Ejgreen

    Ejgreen Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    35
    2
    16
    oh, and I'm permrooted argh
     
  3. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    The tool you used to S-OFF will also remove it too. You can also remove root with Visionary I think.

    To get yourself back to a stock ROM, you'll need to run an RUU. Unfortunately, I've never done one of those so I'm not to sure what the process is.

    Were you branded or unbranded before?
     
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,004
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,004
    9,625
    1,433
    UK
    To run an RUU you need to install HTC sync, plug the phone in by USB and then run the RUU.exe. It's just like any installer you use on windows: read the page, click next, read that page, click next and so on.

    If your phone was branded it would have lots of orange software installed when you purchased it. That would mean you need a different RUU.

    Once you've used the ruu, you then need to root it again, use the s-off tool to go s-on and then unroot.
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  5. Ejgreen

    Ejgreen Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    35
    2
    16
    Hi,

    Thanks for the replies,

    so how do you do this RUU thing? where will I find a link to the right one? (told you i'm a novice!) My phone was branded before.. locked to orange. Has anyone else done it? oh and one final question.. will it be noticable that its been rooted?

    cheers guys
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
  7. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,004
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,004
    9,625
    1,433
    UK
    I've used ruus before. Its very self explanatory once you start the program up. The only things you'll want to be careful of is that you charge the phone first and don't unplug the USB connection whilst it's running.
     
    Ejgreen likes this.
  8. Ejgreen

    Ejgreen Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    35
    2
    16
    ok, I'll do it tomorrow.. can someone explain the s-off/s-on thingy please?
     
  9. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
  10. Dixi1801

    Dixi1801 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011

    Jun 8, 2011
    212
    12
    58
    Rotherham

    As xyro said, using the s-off tool you used to achieve s-off, you can select the s-on option to restore it, its the bottom option iirc! :)
     
  11. Ejgreen

    Ejgreen Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    35
    2
    16
    Tbh, I didn't root my phone, my friend did and I wasn' t paying much attention when he was doing it! Is there an idiot guide to unrooting? with links and stuff to any programmes I need etc?
     
  12. Dixi1801

    Dixi1801 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011

    Jun 8, 2011
    212
    12
    58
    Rotherham
    When I've done things I need to do tomorrow, if no one else has done a guide ill put one together on how to unroot and s-on :)
     
    Ejgreen likes this.
  13. SB13X

    SB13X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    930
    225
    113
    Rail Consultant
    Wigan, UK
    A great guide for it can be found here:

    xda-developers - View Single Post - [TUT]Complete upgrading guide(root, unroot, flashing ROM & updates)

    It is detailed in a great step by step procedure. Make sure you are S-ON again before you apply any of the RUU files though.


    [EDIT]I said before that it had links to RUU's however they were for the Desire not the DHD. The link for the DHD RUU's I can find are here:

    HTC Desire HD Files - Index of ./RUUs/

    That said it only has T-Mobile and Orange branded RUU, if you need any other operator and want me to hunt it down lemme know.[/EDIT]
     
    Dixi1801 likes this.
  14. Dixi1801

    Dixi1801 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011

    Jun 8, 2011
    212
    12
    58
    Rotherham
  15. Ejgreen

    Ejgreen Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    35
    2
    16
    I think I'm being REALLY thick, but still don't get how to do s/on s-off etc :( x
     
  16. Ejgreen

    Ejgreen Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    35
    2
    16
    [/QUOTE] That said it only has T-Mobile and Orange branded RUU, if you need any other operator and want me to hunt it down lemme know.[/EDIT][/QUOTE]

    stu - if you can possibly find me an RUU for orange that would be brilliant! thanks for all your help.. brilliant.
     
  17. SB13X

    SB13X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    930
    225
    113
    Rail Consultant
    Wigan, UK
    You can check your bootloader status by shutting down your phone and holding down the power and vol- buttons when powering it back up. If you read the top line of the screen you get with the skateboarding droids it should say S-ON or S-OFF somewhere.
    If your unsure type the line you see here and I'll tell you if you need to do anything.

    As far as the RUU goes if you read what I put again you will see that the site I linked has T-Mobile & Orange lol
     
  18. Ejgreen

    Ejgreen Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    35
    2
    16
    Hi, stu, it says

    ENG S-OFF
    Hboot -0.85.2007
    microp 0438
    radio - 26.03.02.26_M
    eMMC boot
    oct 11th 2010
     
  19. SB13X

    SB13X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    930
    225
    113
    Rail Consultant
    Wigan, UK
    Right having checked into it a bit more you don't need to do anything as far as the bootloader is concerned as the RUU removes ENG HBOOT and replaces it with the stock bootloader. What you will need to do is go back to radio s-on which can be done with this tool:

    [TOOL][VIDEO] One click Radio S-OFF, SimUnlock (Easy Root & S-OFF Guide) - xda-developers
     
  20. SB13X

    SB13X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    930
    225
    113
    Rail Consultant
    Wigan, UK
    Let me know if you need anything else.

    Step 1: Use this: [TOOL][VIDEO] One click Radio S-OFF, SimUnlock (Easy Root & S-OFF Guide) - xda-developers to go S-ON and revert back to the Orange CID if it came as an Orange branded phone which is: ORANG001

    Step 2: Ensure you have the latest HTC Sync Downloaded and installed.

    Step 3: Download:http://iloveabath.co.uk/index.php?d...140f_26.05.05.27_M3_release_170856_signed.exe (This is the latest and most downloaded Orange RUU available.)

    Step 4: Hook your phone up to your computer and select HTC Sync mode.

    Setp 5: Run the RUU.exe as downloaded above and follow the on-screen instructions.

    Step 6: Voila Custom Recovery Removed and stock restored, ENG HBoot removed and stock restored, and the Orange Gingerbread OTA should be available to download and install should you want to.

    (Issues may occur if your PC operates Windows 7 or Vista when using the RUU. Error codes 170 or 171 may appear due to any conflict. There are a couple of solutions available if you need them here: http://androidforums.com/desire-hd-all-things-root/391513-going-back-stock.html but the guaranteed solution seems to be running XP with the most up to date .net framework install with the latest service pack.)

    *I take no credit for any information contained in the links provided all credit to the authors and suppliers of all programs, RUU and related info. I just compiled it here.
     
    D-U-R-X likes this.
  21. Ejgreen

    Ejgreen Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    35
    2
    16
    stu, thats awesome, except when I try to get it to s-on, it just said 'error, probably connection' but my connections is fine :S
     
  22. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,004
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,004
    9,625
    1,433
    UK
    Do you have USB debugging enabled? Also, keep the screen of the phone on to lookout for a popup from the superuser permissions app (on which you'll want to hit allow).
     
  23. Ejgreen

    Ejgreen Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    35
    2
    16
    usb debugging is on, and screen is on :) its cos im using win 7 but tried everything and still wont change to s-0n grrrr
     

Share This Page

Loading...