1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Phone resets everytime I turn it on

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sternman318, Feb 11, 2011.

  1. sternman318

    sternman318 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Well I have rooted my phone and I've been going through some crap for a week. I rooted my phone ( ultimately, this was the only method that worked http://androidforums.com/droid-all-...oid-without-rsd-lite-up-including-frg83d.html ), flashed with Cyanogen and it worked great. I tweaked a setting in spare parts... something that was related to 'end button behavior'... as per a suggestion I found somewhere to extend battery life.

    After that ( I think, anyway), everytime restarted my phone, it reset ( i.e. i have to start back at " Welcome to Droid"). I tried to restore via Nandroid, I removed CM, tried flashing stock ( Via http://theunlockr.com/2010/06/04/how-to-unroot-the-motorola-droid/ ), factory wiped my phone no less than 25 times... tried rerooting my phone and installing CM and viola! fixed!... just kidding, it still resets. Most of the resets are incomplete, and the phone goes haywire at the initial set-up screen with apps force closing and a boot loop following that, and I have to go into recovery mode and wipe everything.

    Has anyone run into this before? Btw, reset means all user data and cache; the operating system is fine, I just lose all messages, settings, ect.

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. sternman318

    sternman318 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    BB <33333333333!
    I flashed it today and I have turned off/on my phone 3 times and it didnt reset once! Plus its a nice ROM.
    I dont know what was wrong with it before, but right now I dont care haha
     
  3. sternman318

    sternman318 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    So Bugless Beast works well, and my phone no longer resets. However, my phone gets stuck on the Motorola Logo when booting now... when will it end? haha. How does one go about COMPLETELY reseting a phone back to stock- as in, I want not an ounce of original code on this baby.
     
  4. sternman318

    sternman318 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Well I did some kernel switching, and Chevy's Ulow .8 Ghz seems to have hit the sweet spot. The faster kernel's were awesome, but phone actually booting > ridiculously fast phone
     
  5. teddyearp

    teddyearp Android Expert
    Rank:
     #78
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,417
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    2,417
    846
    233
    Store Manager
    Pinetop, AZ
    Moral of the story? Don't use that setting in spare parts again. Odd that restoring a backup didn't fix it though.
     
  6. sternman318

    sternman318 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Yeah, it beats me. I am scared to try any other ROM for fear of it coming back. Good thing BB is good!
     
  7. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,943
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,943
    14,169
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    That would be flashing an .sbf via RSD Lite. It's the NUCLEAR option for Droids :)
     
  8. sternman318

    sternman318 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    I did that... xD
     
  9. sternman318

    sternman318 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Could you link me to a recent/good .sbf?I am thinking that the one I used before may not have been good. I flasheda different rom and the reset is happening again -_-

    EDIT: Got .sbf off of peter alfonso's site
     
  10. sternman318

    sternman318 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Flashed it with a .sbf and RSD Lite, and this thing STILL resets when I turn it off/on. Has anyone heard of this before or have any idea what causes it?? Only when I root it and run Bugless Beast does it not reset everytime... Its a good ROM, but I would like to not be limited to it...
     

Share This Page

Loading...