1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Phone rooted, but no apps appear in Superuser app list

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lovemuffin, Dec 19, 2012.

1. lovemuffin

lovemuffin Newbie

Hi, I am new to rooting, but I did successfully root my phone using Bin4ry's method. However, Superuser shows no apps in the list.

After I rooted the phone, Superuser showed up in my app manager but when I opened it, it didn't list any apps. I tried to update or change the binary of that Superuser app and it didn't work and just uninstalled it. So I installed a different version of Superuser from Google Play and this version doesn't list any apps either.

I downloaded Root Checker Basic from Google Play and when I check it says, "Congratulations! This device has root access." What am I doing wrong? When I open apps on my phone, I don't get any prompts from Superuser.

What am I doing wrong? How can I get root access to get rid of Virgin Mobile's annoying crapware? Thanks!

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. cooldudezach

cooldudezach Android Enthusiast

In order for root to work properly, our phone needs an older version of the su binary. Use the files from this link [GUIDE] Root your Kyocera Rise! - Android Forums at AndroidCentral.com. It includes the older su and an older superuser apk, but you can update superuser from the play store. The prompts will work then.

Edit: so long as you haven't updated supersu, you should be able to just redo the root process, but you might want to remove supersu first.

3. ViperBravo

ViperBravo Lurker

Can we update the superuser binarys yet?

4. lovemuffin

lovemuffin Newbie