1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Phone ruined? Please help.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SoMuggyFresh, Jan 12, 2013.

  1. SoMuggyFresh

    SoMuggyFresh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013

    Jan 12, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    First off, it isn't my phone, it's my GF's S3. Now the problem is weird and I can't seem to find anything about it online. This is what happened (as far as I know).

    Phone is not rooted in anyway. Anyways, I was trying to update to JB for her and I kept getting the error 402-6 (Can't remember exactly) and I never could get it. Then one day we woke up and it looked like it updated by itself at night, which is nice but it caused something to happen and it's a seriously problem. I can no longer access the phone's settings at all. I've tried to do the softkey setting shortcut and it says touchwiz has stopped. The notification bar setting shortcut says the System UI has stopped. I've tried nova launcher and an explorer app with no luck. I did see a face unlock setting in the explorer app that goes into the settings, but when I tried to open it through the explorer it said it could not be open.

    It's almost as if her settings got wiped away completely. I've tried to reset/power off/battery pull the phone with no luck. Lastly I tried a factory reset (power/volume/home method) with no luck.

    If anyone knows anything, please help. We will be taking the phone to a store most likely Tuesday.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    30,006
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,006
    24,911
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    So a factory reset via recovery (the home/volume up/power that you tried) didn't change anything? Same issues?
     
  3. silentwitness

    silentwitness Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,095
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    1,095
    319
    173
    Male
    Bombay India
    if u do a factory reset it should solve the problem. try going into recovery mode and see.
     
  4. SoMuggyFresh

    SoMuggyFresh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013

    Jan 12, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    I can try recovery mode again (I just don't know what to look for) but I did a factory reset and it didn't fix a thing. I know it reset right also because it started the startup wizard and also had all the tut popups.
     

Share This Page

Loading...