1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Phone running poorly after root?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bowslayer, Jun 27, 2011.

  1. Bowslayer

    Bowslayer Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    237
    34
    43
    I apologize in advance for my lack of knowledge.
    I assume I maybe missed a step after rooting. My phone seems a little buggy today after rooting and flashing GB this weekend.
    Was i suppose to do a factory reset After the GB. I did after I SBF'ed Froyo and only wiped Cache after GB because it was Bootlooping.
    Also my launcher redraws everyting after removing from Car and Home
    Dock. Even after freezing Car Dock and Dock services. Thanks and sorry again for stupid questions
     

    Advertisement

  2. Sokudo Ningyou

    Sokudo Ningyou Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    220
    9
    36
    Female
    SE Wisconsin

    I know the first time I tried to root, mine was terrible too. SBF'ing, clearing cache and factory reset did the job. I also found better success rooting with Visionary + instead of z4root.
     
  3. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    Even though some people choose not to, I always wipe cache and wipe/factory reset after applying a major update like a Rom or an sbf; it avoids a lot of headache later on ;)
     
  4. Bowslayer

    Bowslayer Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    237
    34
    43
    Should I do this thru DX Bootstrapper or stock recovery? I wont loose root?
    I dont mind doing factory reset. Not that big of a deal in my opinion. Better to do it Right rather than Whine and Moan later.
     
  5. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    When I sbf I do it through factory recovery, when I apply a Rom I do it through bootstrap/CWR.
     
  6. Bowslayer

    Bowslayer Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    237
    34
    43
    Thanks. I kept trying to get into Clockwork recovery and was getting a black screen. I forgot to uncheck Debugging (per Droid X Bootstrapper).
    I just did a Nandroid backup. If do a factory reset do i just re-download Dx Bootstrapper and restore Everything? Im getting anxious to try a ROM real soon I think(after a little more studying of course).
    Also hate to be a pain but do I need to flash that Deodex file for ROMs or just to apply themes? Sorry for the constant questions. I am trying to read as much as I have time to.
     

Share This Page

Loading...