1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Phone slowdown after internet link?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Mar, Mar 26, 2013.

  1. Mar

    Mar Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    211
    29
    43
    Hey guys and gals.

    I was wondering if it is possible for the phone to get a virus or something. I accidentally clicked a spam link on twitter and now it seems to me that the phone is a bit slower. Is that possible or am I just being paranoid?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Think its possible but very unlikely tbh. Have u tried restarting the phone?
     
  3. ExtremeNerd

    ExtremeNerd Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    744
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012

    Aug 7, 2012
    744
    237
    93
    Male
    IT Staff Accountant
    STL
    There are no viruses for android. It does not run like Windows. Reboot and you're probably fine.
     
  4. Mar

    Mar Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    211
    29
    43
    I have rebooted but still I am not sure. I am not necessarily talking about a virus but perhaps an app that has been installed without me knowing? I went through the app manager and i can't see anything strange apart from coupe of apps including dropbox which appear twice but with different versions but in the app drawer i can see only one version of it..
     
  5. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Yeah i have dropbox twice lol. Didnt really think anything of it. So in what way does the phone feel slower mate?
     
  6. Mar

    Mar Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    211
    29
    43
    Well everytime i connect to the internet everything stutters a little bit and i dont think it did this before. Also some of the time the keyboard is a bit slow to respond.
     
  7. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Try the App Cache Cleaner widget from the play store mate. I know the s3 shouldnt need it in theory but i find that it does sometimes. Either that or boot into recovery mode and clear cache there :thumbup:
     
  8. ExtremeNerd

    ExtremeNerd Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    744
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012

    Aug 7, 2012
    744
    237
    93
    Male
    IT Staff Accountant
    STL
    An app cannot install without your permission. I think this is in your head, my friend. "Sometimes" and "I think" don't give us much to go by. Unless it is something noticeable and consistent, I would say continue on as usual.
     
  9. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Tuesday blues Nerd mate? ;)
     
  10. rayhipkiss

    rayhipkiss Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    408
    87
    53
    Male
    UK
    It's highly unlikely that you have any malicious software (malware) installed on your phone. The slowdown you seem to be experiencing could simply be a flaky network connection or just a matter of clearing the browsers cache.

    The term "Virus" is software that can reproduce and spread itself across to another machine/device. This isn't possible on mobile phones because the owner of the phone has to specifically give the software permission to install.

    Malware is a possibility on a mobile device if you download and install software from an untrustworthy source. Especailly if that software is a cracked version of a paid app that you have obtained for free from a warez or file sharing site. But malware is not the same as a virus.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  11. ExtremeNerd

    ExtremeNerd Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    744
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012

    Aug 7, 2012
    744
    237
    93
    Male
    IT Staff Accountant
    STL
    ha I like what you did there. I'm in a great mood actually =)
    I even added a new one to my Android commandments.
     
  12. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Lol commandment 4 mate? :beer:
     
  13. Mar

    Mar Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    211
    29
    43
    Anyway I understand that you can't get virus so that's good. i've cleared the internet cache. We'll see if it persists but ok it isn't that noticeable unless i am connecting to the internet on wifi. perhaps my wifi is playing up..
     
  14. bigsmokefarmer

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012

    Jul 2, 2012
    50
    1
    16
    Mar when did you first see this? I have similar issues, that I've only seen this last week or so.
     
  15. GTWalling

    GTWalling Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,277
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012

    Sep 9, 2012
    1,277
    412
    163
    Alabama USA
    You may need to wipe the cache partition, do the following:
    1. Turn off the device.
    2. Press and hold the Volume Up key, Home key, and Power key at the same time.
    3. When the phone vibrates, let go of the buttons.
    4. Press the Volume Down key to move to and highlight wipe cache partition.
    5. Press the Power key to select and wipe the cache partition.
    6. After the wipe is finished, go back up till reboot system now is highlighted and press the Power key to restart the phone.
     
    Puppa and bigsmokefarmer like this.
  16. Mar

    Mar Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    211
    29
    43
    It's only been in the last week as well.


    GTwalling why would wiping the cache partition help? Is this a cache for the whole phone memory? What does it do?
     
  17. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Cache being (not full but... i cant think of the word lol) seems to slow things down like scrolling and keyboard input in my experience. I swear by App Cache Cleaner app/widget.. was it this thread where i already said that?.. anyway, that always butters things up for me but i dont know if it clears the same amount of cached data as doing it in recovery does or not..
    P.s, in my mega-laymens thinking, i see "cache" as data saved to make things faster, like the cpu saves bits of data so it doesnt have to compute/load the same stuff again needlessly
     
  18. bigsmokefarmer

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012

    Jul 2, 2012
    50
    1
    16
    clearing the cache in recovery mode fixed my issues thanks GTWalling
     
  19. GTWalling

    GTWalling Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,277
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012

    Sep 9, 2012
    1,277
    412
    163
    Alabama USA
    Clearing the Cache in recovery clears all the Apps including System app that you can not get to easily.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  20. Mar

    Mar Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    211
    29
    43
    But I am not doing anything differently than other times and if the system has parts saved for accessing it faster isn't it counter productive to delete them? It's the task killer debate again?
     
  21. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    You would think so man but i defo need to clear the cache sometimes. Ram is a different story.. android handles that really well now :)
     
  22. Mar

    Mar Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    211
    29
    43
    Does this delete any messages or gallery photos etc?
     
  23. bigsmokefarmer

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012

    Jul 2, 2012
    50
    1
    16
    It didn't on mine, was all seamless
     
  24. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Nah u dont lose anything mate
     
  25. Puppa

    Puppa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    320
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    320
    93
    73
    Linux kernel development, Android & Chrome
    Raleigh, NC
    Glad clearing your cache worked. That said, however, it is possible for an Android device to get a virus. See the following link for a current, relevant example (security report):
    Stels Android Trojan Malware Analysis | Dell SecureWorks
    Just wanted to make sure there's no disinformation out there. A false sense of security is bad.

    That said, you are safe if you've disabled installation of non-Marketplace apps, but a lot of us have turned that off so we can install stuff from the Amazon appstore. Turning it on after you've been infected is too late, btw.
     
    Mar and funkylogik like this.

Share This Page

Loading...