1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Phone so slow, screen does not light for incoming calls...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by crw_83202, May 20, 2016.

  1. crw_83202

    crw_83202 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 20, 2016

    May 20, 2016
    6
    0
    15
    Male
    I believe I made a huge mistake buying an Android phone. I've tried to use this for about 10 months.

    Currently the phone response is so slow, the screen doesn't light up for an incoming call! After the caller gives up, then maybe I can get the stupid phone to start responding to input!

    If I tap the screen, it takes several seconds to respond.

    Part of the problem is, I went 8G storage, thinking that using a big SD card would work for me. But if the Android system and it's apps won't use it, what good is it? Every app seems to require being on the native storage, and this is regardless of if I have it configured as an external removable SD card, or extended native storage. (I'm on Marshmallow.....)

    Why do I have to constantly have to delete junk files as if this was an old PC?

    Why does it take two hours of babysitting the device to update anything?

    I'm thinking of doing a general reset of everything so I can survive the next few months (until I can go back to Apple), any suggestions? How do I do this?

    Part of the problem is, I think Google Play brings all my music to the local native 8G storage until it's completely full and then this destroys performance. But this is only a theory. I don't know how to reset just that.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Welcome to Android Forums.

    Have you ever done a Wipe Cache Portion? This deletes all temporary data and doesn't touch permanent data, apps, or settings. It can become corrupted over time and cause moderate to severe performance problems. (I am using a Turbo 2 and Wipe Cache Partition every Saturday as part of weekly maintenance.)

    If you still have the problem after that ... try running in Safe Mode. This will disable all apps you added without uninstalling them. If the problem stops it was caused by an app that you added.

    ... Thom
     
  3. crw_83202

    crw_83202 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 20, 2016

    May 20, 2016
    6
    0
    15
    Male
    I'll have to look into it...
     
  4. crw_83202

    crw_83202 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 20, 2016

    May 20, 2016
    6
    0
    15
    Male
    Is the "wipe cache partition" procedure specific to certain hardware? Is there a set of Moto-G specific instructions?
     
  5. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
  6. crw_83202

    crw_83202 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 20, 2016

    May 20, 2016
    6
    0
    15
    Male
    Shocking... I'm an electrical engineer. I can tell you, my mom, or anyone else non-technical in this world would/will not accept this. Why doesn't Google do it automatically? Buying stock in Apple. lol... Thank you for your help!
     
  7. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Are you back to normal?

    It has an interesting history. When you do a Factory Data Reset it does a few things. One of them is a Wipe Cache partition. In early Android people would get performance problems and the answer was always to do a Factory Data Reset. It worked. Then there was a release when it didn't work (they had left the Wipe Cache Partition out). This really got people excited and the result was that it was made available after that as a separate utility.

    On my Droid Turbo it took about 9 minutes to run. on my Droid Turbo 2 it takes about a second. No one has ever explained why.

    ... Thom
     
  8. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    The reason is ... they don't delete data until they need the space for something else. The reason is that in many cases it is faster to start something if the old data is still there and they don't have to allocate a new file.

    ... Thom
     
  9. crw_83202

    crw_83202 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 20, 2016

    May 20, 2016
    6
    0
    15
    Male
    Ah, it's still cranking, but I went through the "reboot system" step. Every time I power it up it goes through an "optimizing app 1 of 1" thing, which takes 10 to 20 minutes.......... heading into a meeting now.
     
  10. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,103
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,103
    14,074
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Well Apple doesn't make phones that only have a poxy 8GB of internal storage. It's Motorola (Lenovo) being cheapo. Also an iPhone is going to cost you a lot more dough .[emoji14]
     
  11. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    That almost sounds like you were doing as system update and it got nailed by the fragmented cache and is now completing.

    I have my fingers crossed for you.

    ... Thom
     
  12. crw_83202

    crw_83202 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 20, 2016

    May 20, 2016
    6
    0
    15
    Male
    It's alive! I can now scroll and not wait three seconds to see the next screen!!! lol...

    I did have an iPhone 4 with 8G, and it worked well, without ever needing low-level interventions like this. Oh well. I would not have bought the Moto with 8G if I knew that the whole SD card thing was a complete bait-and-switch.
     
  13. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    The added stuff Android users have to be aware of ...
    • Factory Data Reset
    • Wipe Cache Partition
    • Safe Mode
    • Long-press on Power to do a reset
    ... Thom
     
  14. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    5,487
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

  15. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,103
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,103
    14,074
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    iPhone 4 was a few years ago. Minimum is 16GB now, or 64GB. The latter might be recommended if you have a largish music and media library.

    The SD on an Android device is not usually a "bait and switch", but you could issue with this particular Moto phone though. Especially if you can't even use the SD for music or something.
     
  16. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    3,987
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    3,987
    3,019
    608
    Illinois
    Whenever I read direct comparisons between iPhones and Androids I always apply some healthy skepticism. In this case, there's an iPhone 4, Apple's flagship phone in its day (being that only recently has Apple started to also release mid-level models) being compared to a Moto G, reputed to be an economy priced model with mid-level specs. Also blanket statements along the lines of '...huge mistake buying an Android phone...' and '...not wait three seconds to see the next screen!!! lol...' indicate this is more a thread to troll the forum more than anything. As the problems allegedly described don't apply to all Moto G phones much less Android phones in general, if the OP is indeed an electrical engineer he/she apparently doesn't have a very extensive background as logic dictates a bad experience with one piece of equipment only rarely applies to an entire product line. As there isn't a similar Moto G bashing going on throughout the online community, to most this would indicate a problem with this particular phone.
     
  17. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    This is true. It is also true that you will probably do a Wipe Cache Partition once or twice a year.

    In my case I do development on my phone and go through a lot of temporary data. I just wipe the slate clean every week. This is probably not typical.

    So ... when it took 8 minutes to do it it was debatable ... when it takes 1 second to do it I don'lt think it is.

    You get to choose ... ignore it ... it will gradually degrade performance ... eventually it will get so bad you will complain aboutg it ... then do a Wipe Cache Partition.
    ... or ...​
    Do a periodic Wipe Cache Partiton and never have to think about it again.

    ... Thom
     

Motorola Moto G (3rd Gen)

The third generation Moto G was announced in India in July of 2015 (it became available for purchase that same day). The Moto G 3rd Gen features a 5.0-inch LCD display, Snapdragon 410 processor, 16GB storage, 2GB RAM, 13MP rear/5 MP front facing cameras, 2,470 mAh battery, and is IPX7 certified against water/dust.

Share This Page

Loading...