1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Phone space is real low!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Chuck1906, Aug 7, 2011.

  1. Chuck1906

    Chuck1906 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    310
    7
    36
    I have 16.07MB of Available space on my MOTO Droid! How do I free up space? A lot of my apps are on my SD card so what is eating up all the space?

    When I go into my phone settings then click Applications then Manage Applications, I have some apps that are eating up some space! Facebook for example is showing 21.34MB; Adobe Flash player is 11.93MB; Skype is taking up 15.37MB.

    When I click on one of those apps mentioned above I have a few options. Like I said most of them are on my SD card which shouldn't have an impact on my phones internal memory. Clear Cache is all greyed out and not clickable. Force Stop is an option but not sure if that will help with my space issue. The next option is CLEAR DATA. Now do I want to click this button? I am afraid to click it because I am worried it wipe everything out pertaining to that app as it warns you before it does it.

    I do have a task killer app that will kill all running apps but that doesn't do anything for my low space issue.

    Any ideas or suggestions?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,445
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,445
    1,943
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Clearing data will remove all the settings associated with that application. Clearing cache is what you want, but you'll probably need to force stop them first.

    These apps with lots of space - do you have them open as widgets on your home screens? If so, you'll need to remove them from the home screen first before FCing them.

    Another thing to look at would be the number of calls in your call log as well as the number of SMS you have in the messaging app. Get https://market.android.com/details?id=com.riteshsahu.SMSBackupRestore&feature=search_result and https://market.android.com/details?id=com.riteshsahu.CallLogBackupRestore&feature=search_result and make backups - then delete the existing ones there. That will help free a lot of space up too if you have a lot of SMS and / or calls.
     
  3. Chuck1906

    Chuck1906 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    310
    7
    36
    I cleared out all my text messages and cleared out my Call Log as well. It's now showing I have 19.59MB available! I even removed four apps too! The only app I have on my home screen is Facebook. The rest are not. Its not even the Facebook app. I have the website bookmarked on my home screen.
     
  4. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,445
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,445
    1,943
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I'm rooted, so I can clear my cache - check the market to see if there is a cache cleaner that does not require root privileges - IIRC, there is at least one....
     
  5. gadzooks

    gadzooks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    179
    20
    58
    bits & bytes
    left coast USA
    Quick System Info PRO (free, with ads) lets you clear cache on a device that's not rooted.

    It also has more sort options when viewing installed applications, like data or cache size.
     
  6. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    Incorrect. Apps moved to SD still use some internal storage. The space listed under manage apps is the internal storage still used.

    There's no one-size-fits-all answer. Do you need the data associated with the app or not? You can also cleanup data within a given app to free up space if you're not looking to dump all data for that app. Data is frequently overlooked. There are apps out there to show you exactly what is using up internal storage.

    Nope.

    Clearing cache won't really do much good unless the cache for a given app has just grown out of hand. If you use an app it will just build up cache again.
     
  7. WranglerAz

    WranglerAz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011

    Aug 9, 2011
    4
    0
    25
    Hi,

    I tried using Astro File manager to see what large files are on the phone, and had limited success, too many files from /dev show up, and its hard to relate files to apps.

    After clearing out logs, what is the best way to see what is taking up the most room, and deciding on what to remove?
     
  8. umataro42

    umataro42 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    310
    66
    53
    Male
    San Pedro, CA
    I've run low on space a few times too, although not quite that low. I removed a lot of apps or games I wasn't using anymore and that helped. I also recently uninstalled the updates for Goggles (rarely use it), and Market (the new format seemed to really tax the Droid, and I was fine with the old format). That cleared up a bit of space too.

    Edit: if you uninstall updates on the Market app, it just re-installs them because of another app "Market updater". And since the market itself isn't in the market (too much paradox I guess) there's no "update automatically" box to uncheck. So the only way to get rid of the updates is if you're rooted and you used Titanium Backup (or a similar app) to freeze the updater.

    But you can uninstall the updates to the stock muisc player app if you don't need what was added in (I didn't really) and that clears up some space too./Edit

    Also, even when you move an app to SD Card, it doesn't move the entire app, the memory listed for the app will go down but not to 0. The amount it lists is what is still on your phone's memory.

    Since I'm rooted, I also got rid of that Twitter app, since I don't have an account, but that was more out of spite than to save space.
     
  9. WranglerAz

    WranglerAz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011

    Aug 9, 2011
    4
    0
    25
    I brought up the idea to root her phone, this was not comfortable with her. I doubt she has removed the call and chat logs since she got the phone, so that seems to be the first step.
     
  10. Chuck1906

    Chuck1906 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    310
    7
    36
    I have the Quick Systems Info Pro app for quite some time now but I don't fully understand how to use it! I did see the one click cache cleaner button. After reading a few of these responses, I am guessing that clearing the cache to all my apps won't really free up space right? I have 33 app updates to do on my phone and I am definitely gonna run out of space quick if I tried to update them all at one time.

    Right now Facebook has the biggest file size of 21mb. I have several other big file apps not quite in the 21mb range but close, so do I need to get rid of those to free up space or is there a work around?

    Thanks!
     
  11. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,445
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,445
    1,943
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Start analyzing your apps and seeing which can be moved to the SDCard. SDMove is a good one that can do the analysis for you. Another thing would be to not use widgets as much - it's pretty easy to open apps and not having them in widget form will help save battery too, as the app is not always trying to update.

    The way to manually find apps to move to the SDCard is to go to Menu --> Applications --> manage Apps --> menu key --> Sort by size
     
  12. gadzooks

    gadzooks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    179
    20
    58
    bits & bytes
    left coast USA
    Clearing cache does free up internal storage space for me. I do it once a week or so, just did it now, and there are 10MB additional free.

    You may be able to install the updates with the amount of free space you have without uninstalling apps.

    Longer term, free up some additional space so you can fret less, enjoy device more. :)

    QSI sort options helped me in a couple ways. Install Location shows which can Move to SD.

    Sometimes space used is mostly data (in QSI, sort by Data Size), and a couple of my apps like this offer option to store data on SD card (K-9 & FeedR).

    If you're curious what's using cache, sort by Cache Size.

    I choose Descending Sort Order for all of above so that what I want to see is listed first.
     
  13. Chuck1906

    Chuck1906 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    310
    7
    36
    Where are you seeing those options? Im showing SORT BY - Usage Time, Launch Count and Application Name. If your talking about the check boxes in the preferences then yes I have all of those checked off...Oh nevermind I see it now. I have my Primary Sort By Cache Size; Primary direction is Descending and I already moved whatever apps will move to the SD card a while back.

    I am wondering if there is something else wrong because after talking to other people they have just as many apps as me and have around 50mb of internal storage left over and hardly ever get the alert for low space.

    In terms of widgets, I have one for K-9 Email (content was moved to SD card though); Facebook but that is a shortcut for the web version and not the facebook app. I used to have all 4 pages filled with apps and/or widgets but was told that may be a problem so I eliminated a lot of those from other pages. My home page is the only one that is completely filled up.

    Going back to Q SYS INFO Pro do I click the check box next to every app then hit my menu key and then hit clear cache. Or just clear cache with no apps checked off?

    In the NET STATES button at the top, when I click Preferences, I see where I can update the speed. Currently I have it set to normal. What is this for? What would happen if I switched it to high or low? Now for the PROCESSES button at the top, I have speed set to high. Again I have no idea what any of this means.

    Does the Droid store temporary files that can be removed to free up space?

    As for me might being able to install my updates with the available space I have...I doubt that seriously. I have about 30 sum updates and currently have 26.52mb of available space.

    I have a bunch of websites bookmarked on my phone. Does that eat up space? Should I clear out my history? Im just trying to think of what I can get rid of to free up space!! LOL!

    I agree I want to enjoy the phone without these "space" issues!!!

    Thanks for all help suggested!!!
     
  14. gadzooks

    gadzooks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    179
    20
    58
    bits & bytes
    left coast USA
    On the run, a few quick things.

    Temporary files. Likely there are some, unlikely they're significant contributors. I cycled power, noting free internal storage before and after. There was an additional .11MB free after.

    QSI Net States (& Processes) Update Speed. Believe this is frequency of network connections status (and running processes) updates, which wouldn't impact internal storage space usage.

    Check boxes in QSI Applications tab listings display are for selecting apps you want to back up.

    Browser bookmarks. Believe these do use internal storage and are included in data size for browser app used.

    I have boatloads of installed apps (125 or so), bookmarks, home screens (5), 4 of which are filled with shortcuts and widgets, 2/3 of which update, and I have approx 60MB free internal storage. It was 70 for a long time but the apps they are a-growin' (user & system), whether I have any earthly interest in added features or not. Life, you know ...

    All of this is to say I agree with your inclination that it may not be the number or size of installed applications themselves. More likely, data associated with one or more.

    Reason I thought you might have enough space for your pending updates. I do updates weekly, typically 10 +/- a few. When I remember, I note internal storage free before and after and it usually decreases by couple/few MB.
     
  15. gadzooks

    gadzooks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    179
    20
    58
    bits & bytes
    left coast USA
    QSI check boxes, didn't answer your question relative to clearing cache, sorry about that. Cache is cleared in all apps.
     
  16. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,445
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,445
    1,943
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Answering the bold faced items:

    The number of apps you have installed is not necessarily related to *what* apps you have installed. I have over 120 apps installed and I'm hovering at 30 MB free, but have moved a lot of large apps over to the SDCard. Still, though, you might be right - I don't think I've ever seen FB taking up 20 MB by itself.

    The temporary files you're thinking of are the Cache files we were referring to when we said clear your cache. You really need to clear your cache before anything else.

    If I were you, and since you have a shortcut to the mobile (web) interface of FB, I'd uninstall the FB app pronto, then reboot - that will help immediately.

    Oh - another thought - have you been uploading a lot of pics via the FB app to FB? That will certainly cause it to be large like that as well....
     
  17. Chuck1906

    Chuck1906 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    310
    7
    36
    @John I cleared my cache via the Quick Systems Info Pro app on my phone and I noticed a boost in space. I had enough space to finally update many of my apps. Now I am right back down to a low number and when I try to update an app, it tells me I do not have sufficient space to update!

    I am getting really tired of seeing the Low Space icon pop up in my notifications! Should I remove the SD card then reboot my phone so I can see exactly what is eating up space? I have tried just about everything everyone has suggested and I am not getting the results I had hoped for. I don't know what else to try short of throwing my phone at a wall! (being sarcastic) Just frustrated about this.

    I never had this issue until I installed Adobe Flash on my phone. I can't even update that to the most current version until I can get some space back! I am down to 26.0MB and it won't allow me to update any apps!

    Another thing I am noticing when surfing the web, as some websites load up, I will get the LOW SPACE notification pop up as well. As soon as I close out of that site or close out of the web all together it usually will go away.
     
  18. Chuck1906

    Chuck1906 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    310
    7
    36
    A quick Google search came up with lots of other people experiencing the same low space issue but I found something that was interesting and thought other people should read if they haven't already done what was suggested.

    Monthly Maintenance - keeping things speedy | Android Central

    What I did learn from that article is clearing my Browser's Cache. That gave me 1.6mb! SMH!!!

    Also what is the Dialer Storage? Is that the call log?
     
  19. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,445
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,445
    1,943
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    yup - dialer storage is call log.

    And since in your other thread you mentioned SMS Backup and Restore, You need to get that up and running again - backup your SMS and then delete them (not the backups - delete the actual SMS themselves).

    Do he same for your call log with his call log backup app - back up the call log, then delete it.

    Then see how much space you have.
     
  20. krichford

    krichford Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    "Chuck1906: A quick Google search came up with lots of other people experiencing the same low space issue but I found something that was interesting and thought other people should read if they haven't already done what was suggested.

    link temp removed

    What I did learn from that article is clearing my Browser's Cache. That gave me 1.6mb! SMH!!!

    Also what is the Dialer Storage? Is that the call log?"

    I was JUST about to say the SAME!!! =)

    Hi all I have read most of the comments a they have helped a LOT - one tihng my hubby reminded me as I was screaming about my phone because I had cleared cache on ALL apps, deleted txt log AND call log and killing all items in taskiller and taskiller was saying I had 70MB free (but under phone settings only 26MB so WHERE was the other 44?!) and I was STILL getting low memory error and could not receive any texts - CLEAR YOUR BROWSER HISTORY lol worked immediately =) Go into browser window then click menu and settings - clear history & cache =)
     

Share This Page

Loading...