1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support phone stopped 4G service suddenly. why?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CFD323, Mar 24, 2011.

  1. CFD323

    CFD323 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    148
    9
    36
    Why won't my phone connect to 4G now? Its been on 4G all day in my location, until now. Whats that all about?
     

    Advertisement

  2. fath0m

    fath0m Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    78
    51
    33
    Try restarting your phone
     
  3. Romikemi

    Romikemi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    141
    23
    38
    OFL
    What I've noticed in the past two days is (1) sudden surprisingly longer battery life (2) I see the 3G icon more often and (3) I see more bars in the connection icon.

    There was some discussion about phones constantly trying to connect to towers that were oversubscribed. VzW may have pushed an update on their side that will properly shift phones down to 3g when 4g is full until they can increase the 4g capacity in markets where the TB was/is successful.
     
  4. Wargazm

    Wargazm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    76
    16
    38
    I'm having a lot of trouble this morning with connectivity. When I first checked the phone, the 3G symbol was in the status bar. I tried the #*#*4636*#*# trick to force the phone into LTE only mode, but that actually caused the phone to reboot spontaneously!

    When it rebooted, I went back to CDMA/LTE/EVDO Auto mode, but the signal kept bouncing around, connecting for a few seconds then dropping, over and over. While this was happening, I was losing around 1% of battery every 45-60 seconds.

    Finally I figured I'd just let it sit in 3G mode, so I changed it to CDMA Auto (PRL) mode. But now the phone won't even connect to 3G, it's sitting here with 1X in the notification bar.

    So yeah...not a huge deal right now, since I'm at work and not going to be surfing on the phone. But still upsetting...I paid for a 4G phone.

    edit: in Minneapolis
     
  5. mdeblaz

    mdeblaz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    408
    37
    43
    Same here! I'm in NYC and had 4G on my way to work... I just looked at my phone and now it's only 3G... no idea why.

    Something up with the towers?
     
  6. clos1084

    clos1084 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    187
    8
    56
    Accountant and Best Buy Mobile
    Wilmington, DE
    4G is down in northern DE (philly market) too! since I woke at 7 this morning
     
  7. Flo2k

    Flo2k Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    14
    2
    16
    NYC
    In Brooklyn 4g is working but my text messages are taking forever to send
     
  8. bdevil02

    bdevil02 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Washington, DC
    4G is down in DC. I can't even connect to 3G.
     
  9. mdeblaz

    mdeblaz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    408
    37
    43
    I'm in Mid-town Manhattan and I just completely lost data service... started at 4G this morning... was at 3G when I last posted... then it went to 1X and now I only have the bars.

    WTF?

    EDIT: Now back to 1X
     
  10. Apollo76

    Apollo76 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Same deal here. Just north of Boston. 4G has been strong until a few minutes ago. Sitting at 1X. Already restarted the phone, no change. I think there's a bigger issue with the network at hand here.
     
  11. bdevil02

    bdevil02 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Washington, DC
    Same thing in DC. Going back and forth between 1X and bars.
     
  12. gener1c

    gener1c Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    94
    13
    18
    Philadelphia, PA
    Same issues you guys are having. I am in Philly and have had 4g coverage everywhere I have been. I am not even getting 3g coverage and can not even make a call.
     
  13. jupiment

    jupiment Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    15
    1
    16
    Tampa, FL
    Same here in Tampabay, FL. I had 4G connection the last 2 days at my desk, now I can't get any connection whatsoever. Sounds like a system wide thing.
     
  14. bdevil02

    bdevil02 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Washington, DC
    Well, that's bad for Verizon, but good for my phone. Rather it be a system wide event for my sake. :)
     
  15. swr2000

    swr2000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    93
    4
    16
    I can tell you per a CSR it's system wide and Techs have supposedly been working on it since 6 AM. I only know this bc yesterday a level 2 tech switched my settings on my account to the wrong MEID number. Took 24 hours and a bunch of calls to get it fixed but we couldn't get 4G working, after poking around she said this was going on nationwide.
     
  16. AE86Trueno

    AE86Trueno Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    15
    0
    15
    NYC
    I'm sad and happy at the same time. I was going to go to Verizon today and be like 0_0 my signal keeps cutting in and out. I'm in NYC. But now that I know its happening all over the east coast, I'm cool. Stuff like this is expected to happen since 4G is brand new for Verizon and it looks like the Thunderbolt sold a lot
     
  17. kcl71

    kcl71 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Same in piscataway NJ, perfect all week in same spot and now constantly losing data. Took 3 attempts just to post this...making me nuts. Anyone else experience great 4g outside at home and go in the house to have only 3g signal? Was surprised it would switch like that with such a strong signal.
     
  18. Flo2k

    Flo2k Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    14
    2
    16
    NYC
    I just spoke with my friend who is in down town he said that his 4g came back on
     
  19. loki

    loki Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    41
    0
    15
    My phone was doing the same thing, I am in the DC area as well. I turned off my phone, removed the battery, slide out the 4G Sim tray, let it stay out for 30 seconds, push the 4G Sim Tray back in, and then reboot. This is what solved my problem.
     
  20. AE86Trueno

    AE86Trueno Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    15
    0
    15
    NYC
    A little off topic, but for anyone in the NYC area, how was your speed test? I usually getting aroudn 8-9 mbps, I've hit 17-18 before, but my upload speeds are crazy, up to 33-35 mbps. I'd rather have the speeds reversed, but how is everyone elses speeds?
     
  21. clos1084

    clos1084 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    187
    8
    56
    Accountant and Best Buy Mobile
    Wilmington, DE
    that worked for me too, thank s! hopefully that will last

    those upload speeds are incorrect. Speedtest.net app said they will be updating to address this
     
  22. loki

    loki Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    41
    0
    15

    I don't live in NYC but I have to agree with you. I wish the numbers were reversed. They could even make them even, that way it wouldn't seem as bad.
     
  23. Flo2k

    Flo2k Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    14
    2
    16
    NYC
    just ran my speed test from brooklyn got 11 mbps and 82 ms up was like 25mbps
     
  24. JustinHEMI

    JustinHEMI Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    538
    151
    103
    Male
    Senior nuclear reactor operator
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Pittsburgh reporting in! I was about to post a new thread when unbelievably, I saw this thread.

    I was at work which is in a 3G area when I suddenly lost connection. When I left work, it finally picked back up at 1X. Now I am at home, which is normally in the solid 4G area and haven't had an issue since launch, and I am still getting 1X. No 3G or 4G since lost.

    Seems something is up with the network... which makes me feel better that it wasn't my phone.

    Justin
     
  25. mdeblaz

    mdeblaz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    408
    37
    43
    I'd say about the same. My download speeds range from 8-9 to sometimes 20. Even the lower end of that range is fine for me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...