1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Phone stuck on boot screen...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Verdigo998, Dec 9, 2011.

  1. Verdigo998

    Verdigo998 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011

    Oct 25, 2011
    27
    0
    15
    Can't even get it into recovery mode. Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Fastboot the recovery on.Download this http://www.mediafire.com/?h1sj47cd7fxlum5 then End Call + Volume Down - while phone turns on enters you into fastboot. Plug your phone into your computer and run

    adb-windows (If your comp is a Windows machine, If not run the one for the linux or mac)
    fastboot-windows (Once again if your comp is a Windows machine if not run the linux or mac version)
    And then run install-recovery-windows (Once again same as the above.)

    then once thats down unplug your phone and pull the battery out for 10 seconds or so and then put it back in and you should be able to reboot into cwr.

    or you can go back to stock by downloading and extracting this MetroStockRecovery-SCRIPTS.zip (only if your MetroPcs)
    1)Attach phone to USB
    2)Power Phone Off
    3)Enter Fastboot (End Call + Volume Down - while phone turns on)
    4)Run script relevant to your OS
    metroPCSStock-linux.sh
    metroPCSStock-mac.sh
    metroPCSStock-windows.bat
    5) Your phone will automatically reboot

    Or this for Cricket Ascends..... Read the "Ream me" in the file and it will tell you everything to do. :)

    M860V100R001C153B251SP03.zip (Cricket only!)
     
    Verdigo998 likes this.
  3. Verdigo998

    Verdigo998 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011

    Oct 25, 2011
    27
    0
    15
    Yeah... I pulled the battery and left it at 2 am... didn't touch it until 10 in the morning. Then got it to go into recovery mode. Thanks though! I'll remember that for the next time I try to cut corners...:rolleyes:
     
  4. OrKo

    OrKo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,059
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    1,059
    108
    143
    Male
    I Cook
    Boynton Beach, Fl
    Cutting corners NEVER is a good idea when flashing your phone
     
  5. Verdigo998

    Verdigo998 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011

    Oct 25, 2011
    27
    0
    15
    Oh yeah... NOW you tell me... lol. No I just had tried to do a restore using ROM manager. My first experience doing that and I would not recommend it to anyone. Any way, updated to the newest version of CM7 and everything is running smoother and faster now. Had a lot of lag and softboot issues with the 07 build. running the 09 version now... HUGE difference.

    How do I get the adb to work? Can I use it wirelessly like it says in the description? Or do I need to have it plugged in with a usb cable like I think I should? I just have a laptop right now so anything I can do to keep the wire connections to a minimum would make my life a little easier.

    Also, on a separate note... does tethering work both ways? can I use my computers internet connection for my phone? Or does it just work for the computer? My phone's 1x is crap and when I do have 3g it's hit or miss with staying connected. lots of timeouts and lost connections. Would like to have something more permanent.
     
  6. Can0dope

    Can0dope Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    511
    112
    93
    Hospitality
    Phoenix, AZ
    Never used ADB, pretty sure it's wireless, like it says.

    If you're talking about using you computer's wifi signal for you phone, just turn on the wifi on your phone and it will connect. I don't understand why you would need to tether FROM a laptop TO a phone... :thinking:
     
  7. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    tether laptop to phone? :thinking:
     

Share This Page

Loading...