1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Phone thinks im using A2SD on ext when im not, why?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by KingOfGreen, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. KingOfGreen

    KingOfGreen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    842
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    842
    179
    93
    Chandler, Az
    Sooo i had pretty much ran out of space for my apps with less that 20mb left. Even with move2sd since apps with widgets cant and others. Anyway didnt want to use darktremors a2sd script or a2sd, just to move dalvikcache to cache, so i did NOT partition my sd cards but i did move dalvik to cache. This gave me about 60mb of extra space so i moved a few apps back to internal storage like my browser so i could use them with usbms connected. While doing so i noticed in titanium backup it showed "SD Card (a2sd) 187mb/57.5mb free" so what is this and why is it showing as an sdext??? I even took my sd card out of the phone and all apps supposedly there worked just fine and ti still showed it the same. It still shows the phone and sd card storage perfectly normal. As far as i can tell everything works fine just curious as to whats actually going on
     

    Advertisement

  2. Afteraffekt

    Afteraffekt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    354
    76
    53
    Computer Electronics Engineer
    South Carolina

    Took me a while, but its your /cache partition I believe, it sees where the dalvik is going, and logs it, when i wipe cache it changes that value. Seems to be a reporting bug with TI BU
     
    KingOfGreen likes this.
  3. KingOfGreen

    KingOfGreen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    842
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    842
    179
    93
    Chandler, Az
    Cool cool. Thank you. Do you by chance know the commands to move dalvik to cache without using that script? Theres just a whole lot of stuff there i have no intention of using.
     
  4. Afteraffekt

    Afteraffekt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    354
    76
    53
    Computer Electronics Engineer
    South Carolina
    the script does alot, it is the commands to move it, the script is made as to not break the phone, all it does is required.


    What do you not intend on using?
     
  5. KingOfGreen

    KingOfGreen Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    842
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    842
    179
    93
    Chandler, Az

    Apps2sd or dalvik2sd, just moving the dalvik to cache freed up sooo much space. Dont need to use anything else. When i first moved it things seemed a little mixed up but it seemed to sort itself out over a couple days.

    With everyone stressin about only having full memory and everyone saying how horrible it would be to to do app2sd (dont see why its such a problem really) just moving dalvik to cache frees up all the space they could need.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...