1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Phone will not boot up after Factory Reset.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ABCordova, Jan 7, 2014.

  1. ABCordova

    ABCordova Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014

    Jan 7, 2014
    4
    1
    6

    Hey guys!

    I'm a little new to this android thing. However, I did manage to root my phone ( Rogers Samsung Galaxy S3 I747m) and I did manage to install Cyanogen Mod on it. THis worked well for a long while, until the Google Play Store started glitching. I downloaded a new version of gapps onto my external 8 GB SD card and tried to install it without wiping the cache or anything or even uninstalling the old gapps. Stupid move indeed. So it said the installation failed, and I tried rebooting my phone. It booted up untill the bootanimation where it just froze. I also noticed that I could not access Recovery Mode, at least I thought I couldn't and eventually managed to access Recovery Mod. Once in Recovery Mod, I wiped the dalvik Cache. Nothing changed, it still froze on the boot up animation. Then I backed up my phone onto my SD card and selected Factory reset. I booted it up, and everything seemed fine. Then the cyanogen Mod logo with the cyanogen robot face popped up, and had an arrow spinning around it. The thing is, this arrow keeps spinning and doesn't stop. So back to square 1. Any suggestions?

    Please and thank you!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    welcome to the community mate. Just go into recovery, wipe cache, dalvik and factory reset, flash the rom again, reboot and see if it boots. If it does, go back into recovery and flash the gapps.
    Try that and let us know
     
    ABCordova likes this.
  3. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    P.s, for anyone else reading. If you want to change gapps, the best practice is to do a clean (data wipe) flash of the rom then the new gapps package.
    If youre lazy (like me lol) at least wipe cache and dalvik, dirty flash the rom and then the new gapps :thumbup:
     
    ABCordova likes this.
  4. ABCordova

    ABCordova Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014

    Jan 7, 2014
    4
    1
    6
    Alright I will! Thank you once again! However, do I do all these steps at once and only reboot once I am done all of them? And by ROM do you the Stock ROm or the cyanogen ROm
     
  5. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    The cyanogen rom mate.
    Boot into recovery and factory reset, wipe cache and dalvik, flash CM, then reboot. Then if it boots fine, boot back into recovery and flash gapps (some people would tell you to wipe cache and dalvik again), then see if it still boots :thumbup:
     
    ABCordova likes this.
  6. ABCordova

    ABCordova Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014

    Jan 7, 2014
    4
    1
    6
    Awesome! Now just 2 final questions.

    1. Do I have factory reset, wip cache/dalvik in that order only?

    2. And do I flash CM using Odin?
     
  7. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    It doesnt matter which order you do them in and no, flash CM in recovery the same as you did the first time :)
     
    ABCordova likes this.
  8. ABCordova

    ABCordova Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014

    Jan 7, 2014
    4
    1
    6
    I cannot even begin describe to you my thanks for your help. The phone booted up perfectly. Thank you so much man!!
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  9. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    No problem man. Glad it worked.
    Make a full backup in recovery now ;)
     
    dustwun77 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...