1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Phone wont switch off

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by george9t8, May 30, 2011.

  1. george9t8

    george9t8 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    When I hold down the power button and then select switch off phone it just goes to sleep. The only way it would properly switch off is to drain the battery. Anyone else having this problem?
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    After 3 seconds, you should get the menu with Power off, Airplane Mode & Restart?

    Is Fastboot on? Settings -> Power -> Fastboot.

    Does toggling that make a difference?
     
  3. george9t8

    george9t8 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    I don't have a power option under settings. You must be on 2.3?

    I looked for fast boot in the manual but couldn't find it.
     
  4. murzz

    murzz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    461
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    461
    80
    63
    Male
    Civil Servant
    Edinburgh
    Hi george. What El Presidente means is when you hold down the power button, after 3 seconds you should get the menu with Power off, Airplane Mode & Restart then you just need to choose which one you require.
    Can you confirm if this is happening or not?
     
  5. george9t8

    george9t8 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    Yes, when I hold down the power button I get the three options and when I select Power Off the phone looks like it's switching off but it only takes a couple if seconds, which is why I think it's just going to sleep. Plus when I turn it back on again, I get the operator's splash screen but again it takes a few seconds, and all my apps are still open.

    When you guys select Power Off, does it switch off properly or only go to sleep?
     
  6. murzz

    murzz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    461
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    461
    80
    63
    Male
    Civil Servant
    Edinburgh
  7. BynoUK

    BynoUK Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    732
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    732
    212
    93
    Male
    UK
    It's called fast boot (or something like that if I remember right)

    It's supposed to do that, after a certain amount of time in this state it will fully power down, has done with me anyway when I sometimes switch off to save power during my commute to work.

    It's nothing to be concerned about :)
     
  8. george9t8

    george9t8 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    Thanks, that makes sense, but I think it's odd that you cant decide when to fully power it down.

    The up time on mine was something like 200 hours but it still didn't think it was time for a full power down?
     
  9. george9t8

    george9t8 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    Cheers for that, yes that's what mine is doing - the fast boot.
     
  10. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,004
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,004
    9,625
    1,433
    UK
    If you do a reboot, then it will shut down properly even with fastboot enabled.
     
  11. landovr

    landovr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    723
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    723
    75
    78
    Firefighter
    Alberta Canada
    This is where you can turn off fast boot on 2.2

    Settings/Applications/Fast boot
     
  12. george9t8

    george9t8 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    That's what I wanted thanks.
    Got it, thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...