1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root photo gallery

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by keanej6, Nov 11, 2010.

  1. keanej6

    keanej6 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    supsup -
    so today i finally upgraded to 2.2 and installed kaosfroyo. as with many other eris owners the camera app shits out on me so i installed camera360 and i'm pretty happy with it. the only problem i have is the photo gallery and how stupid slow it is. it takes so long to load my pictures(which is pretty few) that my screen turns off after waiting. and when i go back into it, it attempts to reloads all the pictures again, just to have the screen turn off(again)! i never had this problem with 2.1 (xtrROM). any remedy to this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Problems with Gallery in Froyo on the Eris are 99% a function of the dinky little processor in that device. ;)

    Overclocking the poor little tyke up to 700+ may help a bit with some of the more stable ones (Erises have a reputation for spotty quality, and one may be more reliable than another, as you see in the forums here ;)), we see varying reports of a true remedy for that particular issue.

    The devs of various ROMs have given us a zip file patch or two here and there, you might want to check the Kaos page for things like that:

    [ROM]KaosFroyo V38 [10/28] [FROYO] - xda-developers

    I noticed that in the v36 spiel there is mention of Gallery being fixed. That happens to be the version on my Eris.

    I put your question in the All Things Root area for you.
     
  3. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    While I like the idea of seeing my Picasa photos along with the photos on my phone, I agree that the 3D Gallery app is pretty hungry and a pain to use. However, there is another gallery app that is a lot faster. See xda-developers - View Single Post - [ROM]KaosFroyo V38 [10/28] [FROYO]

    Basically, I'd suggest loading Titanium Backup, which will give you the option to uninstall the existing Gallery app, and then install the one in that post above as a replacement.
     
  4. IzelTokatl

    IzelTokatl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    580
    90
    78
    a lifehacker
    Southern California
    yes, its called Gallery 2D. Works faster, but isn't as "fancy", it works good, with no issues as its not CPU intensive.
     
  5. omarnova

    omarnova Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    anyone found a fix to the slow gallery load? im on lg optimus s 2.2 and my photo gallery takes about 8sec to load and open up...
     
  6. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,101
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    I'm running Nonsensikal and I used to have a problem loading my gallery, but ever since version 9.5, everything has been great! Loads quickly for me.
     
  7. omarnova

    omarnova Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    im on stock rom, not sure what the issue is, shouldnt take more then 2sec to load
     
  8. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483

    You may want to ask your question in the Optimus forum rather than the HTC Eris All Things Root forum.

    LG Optimus S - Android Forums
     
  9. omarnova

    omarnova Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    wow sorry thought i was in the right place, thanks for the link
     
  10. jareneris

    jareneris Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011

    Jan 8, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    how do u load the 2d one to your phone
     
  11. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    It's an .apk file. Just download it to your phone, make sure that settings->applications->unknown sources is checked. Then I'd download Astro from the market, use that to browse to the location of the .apk file, tap it to open and it will ask if you want to install the app.
     

Share This Page

Loading...