1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Photon home screen(s) do not rotate to landscape

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dfisher52, Sep 23, 2011.

1. dfisher52

dfisher52 Lurker
    None

Sep 7, 2011
    Hello,

I have had my Photon for a week now, and I am still learning about it.

As of this morning, it does not rotate any of the home screens to landscape orientation, nor the dialer or contacts applications when I hold the phone in landscape mode.

The other applications that I have tried today will automatically open in landscape mode if I am holding the phone that way, but when I return to one of the home screens, the display reverts back to portrait mode, even though I am still holding the phone in a landscape orientation.

Are there some settings somewhere that I have missed? Or is there a fix or "adjustment" that can restore the landscape capability?

Any thoughts, ideas or recommendations are appreciated.

Thanks

Advertisement

2. dfisher52

dfisher52 Lurker
    None

Sep 7, 2011
    Just to follow up with a little more information, If I open the kickstand, the phone goes into landscape orientation regardless of what screen or app I am on, and it will remain that way until I close the kickstand.

So that brings up another question: it there a setting that I can use to set a special screen timeout value for just for when the kickstand is out? In all likelihood, if I have the kickstand out I probably don't want the screen to go dark as quickly as I normally would.

Once again, any ideas or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

BTW, this is my first android phone and I am loving it. I just need to understand it a bit more.

Thanks again,

D

3. drexappeal

drexappeal Android Expert

Apr 8, 2010
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA