1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Photon Number Two Bricked

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by simcha, Sep 10, 2011.

  1. simcha

    simcha Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    436
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    436
    165
    78
    Male
    Employed
    Oakland, CA
    My second Photon was bricked this morning. I was using the hotspot and usb tether to download music. Suddenly it got caught in a reboot loop. After several battery pulls and a factory reset the phone displayed an error page. This page said that the modem would not power on and that it was in some recovery mode. I tried another few battery pulls but no matter what I got that error screen. When it was displaying the error screen it wouldn't even let me power it down with the power button. It was just bricked.

    I just got back from Best Buy. I exchanged it for my third MoPho in a week and a half. Hopefully MoPho number three is problem free. If not, I might be done with the MoPho.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mitchedo

    mitchedo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011

    Aug 6, 2011
    50
    5
    36
    Medical information systems
    Utah
    wow. That really blows. I'd be done with it too. Mine's been superb, but I don't tether or use hotspot.

    EDIT: to clarify... I attach the MoPho to my computer with a USB cord rather frequently to transfer files. I don't use the MoPho as a "modem" at all.
     
  3. simcha

    simcha Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    436
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    436
    165
    78
    Male
    Employed
    Oakland, CA
    I'm scared to use the hotspot or usb tether on this third one now. I'm going to have to do it though soon to test it. I've put this phone through its paces otherwise and drained the battery well. At some point tomorrow I'll test the phone with hotspot and tether... I'm nervous...

    Has anyone else used usb tether and the hotspot without sending the MoPho into a reboot loop? I don't want to brick this phone. :eek:

    ,שלום
    שמחה
     
  4. KnowProblem

    KnowProblem Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    90
    12
    18
    Which method were you using at the time it bricked? The hot spot or the tether? (otherwise, why would you be using both?)

    Are you rooted? Were you using the "official" Sprint tether connection method? If not, were you using one of the third party tools (e.g. PDAnet, easyTether, etc.?) or were you using a rooted method?
     
  5. simcha

    simcha Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    436
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    436
    165
    78
    Male
    Employed
    Oakland, CA
    I'm not rooted. I'm using Sprint's hotspot and paying for it.

    I was using the hotspot while having the phone in "mass storage mode" so I could simply store the songs on my MoPho. Maybe tethering wasn't the correct word to use for that.
     
  6. zombdroid

    zombdroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    628
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    628
    97
    78
    Search for Brains
    Raccoon City
    I feel your pain. I surrendered after my 3rd EVO 3D. I am hoping the MoPho will be the cure. So far it has been.
     
  7. simcha

    simcha Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    436
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    436
    165
    78
    Male
    Employed
    Oakland, CA
    Everything is perfect but I still haven't tried usb storage or hotspot. I'm still too nervous. I don't have time to sit at Best Buy until Tuesday morning.
     
  8. Citizen Coyote

    Citizen Coyote Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    595
    212
    113
    Austin, TX
    So you had your computer hooked to the internet via the Photon/Sprint's official hotspot capability, and the Photon hooked to your computer via USB mass storage mode, and were saving things directly to the phone? Huh. I've hooked mine up as USB mass storage many times with zero issues, so I wouldn't worry about that. I would try setting up the phone as a hotspot, downloading what you want to your computer, then turn off the hotspot and connect the phone as mass storage and transfer it over.
     

Share This Page

Loading...