1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Photos: deletes duplicate photo without permission

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by connorhawke, Oct 14, 2021 at 4:36 AM.

  1. connorhawke

    connorhawke Newbie
    Thread Starter

    It seems when I delete a photo from within Google Photos, any and all duplicates of the photo with different names are also deleted. For example, if I upload a photo to Drive, rename it there to make the filename more intelligible for when it is shared on various mediums, and then download the renamed photo, Google Photos apparently ties this renamed copy to the original, and assumes I want to remove the original when I remove the renamed copy after it is shared. A current inconvenient workaround requires deletion from within Files instead of Photos, and doesn't seem consistent (photos downloaded to the device from Drive that don't have an original in Photos seem to simply be trashed on the device after I delete from within Files, but remain on the Cloud, necessitating deletion of .trashed files from within Photos). If anyone knows of a more convenient fix to this issue please let me know. Meanwhile I reported the issue to Google.
     


    #1 connorhawke, Oct 14, 2021 at 4:36 AM
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2021 at 5:02 AM

    1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!


      Download

       
  2. puppykickr

    puppykickr Android Expert

    Why not just share a link to the renamed photos?
    Then you do not need to download them.

    But Google has become stingy with their cloud storage, so they will cut corners wherever they can.

    Get ready for Google to ignore your feedback.

    Anyway, try Degoo instead.
    You can use the site or the app.
    The app provides automatic uploads similar to what you have been doing.

    Plus, you get 100GB of storage for free.

    https://app.degoo.com/files/11492908527

    https://degoo-cloud-storage.en.uptodown.com/android
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

Loading...