1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Photo's in text messages

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by amado3, Aug 14, 2012.

1. amado3

amado3 Newbie

Two issues:

Using the stock text messaging (maybe I need to change that?) - and every time I get a text with a picture in it, the picture shows up as a 5 second video clip of that picture.

Also, the picture (video) is only about half the size of the screen, so I have to save it and then go to my gallery to look at it in regular size (shouldn't i just be able to click on it or something?)

Did I mess with some setting somewhere?

Thanks in advance - and yes, I'm new to Android...

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. thaKing

thaKing Android Enthusiast

I believe that's the norm....

3. I had that problem, but it was intermittent. I never found a common denominator, though, so I'm not sure if it is a carrier issue (from the sender) or a phone issue (either) or what.

That said, I haven't had the problem since Sprint's latest OTA. It also seemed to fix the LED notification issue with the 3rd party app "GoSMS Pro". Since the problem was intermittent anyways, I can't say for sure that the stock app was fixed for this issue, but I'm reasonably certain that it was. GoSMS Pro is pretty nice, though, so I'm giving it a go for the next month or so.

4. thaKing

Yep, I've moved to GoSMS Pro as well...

5. Joshieca

Joshieca Member

Handcent SMS does it too. I think it has a lot to do with the type of phone more over than the carrier. My friends who have iPhone's, I tend to get that video slide show thing more over than those with other brands of phones.

6. thaKing

Something I noticed today, but haven't been able to confirm with certainty, is that when I send a photo by itself it goes through normally. However, if I add text to the photo I'm sending, like "look at this car" and send a photo of a car, it sends it like a 5 sec video. Has anyone noticed this?