1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Photos & videos

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by JohnReesewannabe, Jun 26, 2016.

  1. JohnReesewannabe

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016

    Jun 26, 2016
    10
    1
    26
    Male
    I am a years long novice with computers, and now I'm working on tenure with my phone, too...if you know what I mean. I've managed to amass THREE laptops, and, at one time, had photos / pics everywhere. Now, I do good to find the one I just took..??? I know they're around somewhere...probably on all 3 PC's, BUT...I connected my phone ( HTC One ) to the laptop I'm using almost exclusively now, ( Dell 5755, Windows 10 ) just the other day, because I READ that all of your pics and videos would transfer. This instance in particular, is from phone to PC. I saw hundreds of "whatever" files / folders transferring, and in a matter of seconds, it was finished. Guess what? I STILL can't find one single photo or video that I thought I was putting on my PC.
    .
    Usually, most photos, pics, etc., aren't at the top of my agenda. But these were...well, just different. Different in the sense that I wanted to be CERTAIN to keep them all. I honestly don't know what took place, but I sure would like to find ALL of them. Not just the ones I mentioned, wanting to especially keep, but ALL of them. I know they're in one of these devices, if not all of them...I'd just like to find them, and make sure I understand how to KEEP them. Thanks for anyone's assistance. JR
     

    Advertisement

  2. JohnReesewannabe

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016

    Jun 26, 2016
    10
    1
    26
    Male
    This reply is not necessarily directed at the VIP member known as Hadron, but for any person that may be able to help. Hadron and I were in a conversation about my HTC One X, that has gone into it's fast boot / hboot screen.I have tried running a RUU file but it would seem that it didn't do a thing. Perhaps I performed the procedure incorrectly. I am NOT an expert, nor geek in any fashion, and don't know much at all concerning PC's OR smartphones. I can only say that the phone only will bring up the aforementioned screens, by pressing the volume down and the power button at the same time. I have tried all that I personally know how to try, with no success.

    Hadron, if you find this post, please reply, and let us discuss what options are left for me to try.
    Thank you to anyone that has input that will help me get my phone back into it's normal state. I would be very grateful.

    JohnReesewannabe aka Tom
     
  3. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby Android Expert
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    10,934
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    10,934
    6,465
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    The HTC One X had that great Gallery app for your Photos and Videos. What do you see when you look in there JohnReesewannabe?
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,714
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,714
    14,911
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    You'll have to remind me of the state of your phone. Your second post doesn't seem to be related to the first one of this thread, but can you confirm this? Just that if I wanted to recover photos an RUU would be a last resort as it will reset the phone.

    The important thing with an RUU is finding the right one for the device. If you have run one without it doing anything what messages did you get when it ran?
     
  5. JohnReesewannabe

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016

    Jun 26, 2016
    10
    1
    26
    Male
    There is nothing to see. No photos, videos, files, folders, etc.
    ALL that I can get now, is the hboot / fastboot screen. That's it...nothing else at all. My first post in this thread, as Hadron has said above, is not related to my present dilemma at all. I need to get the phone back to it's factory state, and just hope that there is something left on it, but my hopes are almost nonexistent.

    @Hadron: You re correct, my friend. The first post in this thread is NOT related to my present predicament whatsoever. This is simply due to the fact that the hboot / fastboot screens
     
  6. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,714
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,714
    14,911
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    So, can you post the software version info from the hboot/fastboot screen, and do you know the cidnum? If you don't then was the phone locked to a service provider, and if so, which? (What country also relevant - sometimes the carrier name is ambiguous in that respect).

    And if you have tried an RUU, which one and what happened?
     
  7. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby Android Expert
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    10,934
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    10,934
    6,465
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    On your PCs browser try going to Google Photos. Unless you have specifically told it not to some if not all of the photos you've taken with your phone(s) could be there.
     
  8. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,714
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,714
    14,911
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I don't think this is to do with the photos any more - I think we're trying to recover a phone that's unable to boot into Android.
     
  9. JohnReesewannabe

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016

    Jun 26, 2016
    10
    1
    26
    Male
    You are EXACTLY right, Hadron. Getting the phone to boot back into Android is what I thought I was supposed to be doing with the RUU file. It didn't work, but I'm nearly 100% certain that I did not do the procedure correctly.

    There is nothing to see, except the hboot / fastboot screen(s) when I press and hold "volume down" and "power button" at the same time Every now and then, I will get the HTC logo screen, when I am trying to bootup the phone. It will be on the screen for only a few seconds, then disappear...BUT, you can see that the phone is still powered up, just by the way the screen looks. In other words, the screen has a very dark grey tint, instead of a completely black screen. You can easily tell the difference, and see that the phone is still powered up. At this point, there is NOTHING you can do, except let the battery run down and die...you cannot turn it off, no matter what.

    The exact same thing occurs when the phone boots up to the hboot / fastboot screen. If you can't get the RUU to run, which I could not get accomplished last night, then, again you have no choice, but to allow the phone to completely discharge and let the battery die...the only way to turn it off when in this mode as well.

    By the way, this HTC One X has NO REMOVABLE battery...it is a SEALED unit, and cannot be accessed. Thanks again to all of you for your continued support and expertise.

    JohnReesewannabe aka Tom
     
  10. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby Android Expert
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    10,934
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    10,934
    6,465
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    Strange thread title then Tom.

    Xrist! I just looked at the date of the 1st post. Try starting a new thread with your current problem JohnReesewannabe. You'll definitely get more eyes on that way.
     
  11. JohnReesewannabe

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016

    Jun 26, 2016
    10
    1
    26
    Male
    Not certain, but on the hboot/fastboot screen, I have a line of info that reads OpenDSP-v34. 1. 0.45.1219.

    **Line for line, from the top, screen reads as follows:
    ***LOCKED***( highlighted in pink ), EVITA PVT SHIP S-ON RL, Line #3: HBOOT-2.14.0000, Line#4: RADIO-0-24p. 32. 09. 06, Line#5, is the information in previous paragraph that begins with OpenDSP, Line#6: eMMC-boot, Line#7: Nov 26 2012, 18:.37:14:-1
    **2 spaces below these, HBOOT is highlighted in blue. Then, only 3 lines of info telling you they signify: <VOL UP> to previous item, <VOL DOWN> to next item, <POWER> to select item.

    Next, there are 7 lines of commands, ( I suppose you would call them as such ). In order, they read: FASTBOOT, RECOVERY, FACTORY RESET, CLEAR STORAGE, SIMLOCK, IMAGE CRC, POWER DOWN. 3 large bar codes below these...if needed, I can supply numbers, but they are IMEI #, SN#, and MB#.

    I can press and quickly release both volume down & power buttons, and get the same first 7 lines of information that is above, but then below those, screen reads FASTBOOT AC, then the same 3 lines for previous, next, and select. These are followed by 4 lines of info that read, respectively: BOOTLOADER, REBOOT, REBOOT BOOTLOADER, POWER DOWN.

    This is ALL of the info I can retrieve from the phone...except for the 3 android figures at the bottom of the screen...all 3 are riding skateboards. ??? No mention, that I can intrepet as a cidnum. Truth be told, I don't even know what that is or what it signifies.

    Yes, the phone was locked when it was purchased from AT&T, as a promotional offer several years ago, here in the USA. My wife bought it from them for $.01. They WERE our carrier at the time, and still, to this day, both of our HTC phones remain locked, but our wireless PHONE carrier is now Consumer Cellular. Also, JIC it means anything, the AT&T logo is at the top, front & center of both phones, and there are all sorts of AT&T apps in them that we NEVER use.

    Almost forgot...RUU file was called HTC InstallScript Setup Launcher; per my file explorer. The actual name is: RUU_EVITA_UL_JB_50_S_Cingular_US_5.18.502.15, and the attempt to run the file must have had incorrect input FROM ME, because it did nothing...at all.

    Thanks very, very much for all of your continuing efforts and knowledge that I can only wish I had. THAT goes for all parties involved.

    Finally, I want to profusely apologize for this "novel" I have posted here. It is merely an attempt to include all the info I could find.

    JohnReesewannabe aka Tom
     
  12. JohnReesewannabe

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016

    Jun 26, 2016
    10
    1
    26
    Male
    dontpanicbobby: Saw that date just now. It
    dontpanicbobby:
    Just saw that date myself. That HAS TO BE a typo. I hadn't even heard of this website back in June.
    All that aside, is there a way that you know of, or can assist me with, in moving ALL of our conversations in this thread to the appropriate one?
     
  13. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby Android Expert
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    10,934
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    10,934
    6,465
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    A staff member could do it. Mods or Admin. Phases maybe?
     
  14. JohnReesewannabe

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016

    Jun 26, 2016
    10
    1
    26
    Male
    I would not at all object. Earlier, after some learning about YOUR site, I sent a message to either an admin or mod that would or could do that exact thing.
    How can I assist, with the knowledge that I am by no means, too very adept with PC's or smartphones?
    I have an email from HTC. Of course, one can readily see it is broken English. With your permission, may I have a go at forwarding it for all to read? I did try as best I could to follow their steps, but was unsuccessful in getting my phone back to Android. I did however discover a third screen, for the first time. You'll see, IF I can get a copy to you. The only stupid question, as they say, is not asking it. That said, can I upload the email to you as a file? PLEASE, no laughing allowed. Thanks a bunch, folks.
     
  15. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,714
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,714
    14,911
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    OK, so it's an ATT phone whose software dates to November 2012. That's enough information to find an RUU.

    I think the best bet is this one (from AndroidRUU.com). It's a more recent version than you currently have, and that's important because an RUU cannot be used to load an older version. It's a Windows executable, so the procedure is to download to a PC, put the phone into fastboot mode (so if it doesn't say "fastboot" at the top of the screen already, select fastboot from the menu using the volume and power keys), connect to the PC via USB and run the ruu .exe on the PC. After that it should tell you what to do.
     
    lunatic59 likes this.
  16. JohnReesewannabe

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016

    Jun 26, 2016
    10
    1
    26
    Male
    @Hadron: The link you have posted for me, above;(this one), shows me the same thing each time. When I click on the link, in the top left corner of the window, it simply says "This key has expired (exceeded time allotted)." So, I guess I would have to "hand the ball off" back to you, and see if you can figure out what has gone wrong. I don't think I would be able to track down the correct RUU at the website. It would only be a trial and error thing. Thanks much for your continuing interest in assisting me, to try and solve this "jigsaw puzzle".

    Also, would you have any knowledge at all concerning the idea presented by dontpanicbobby yesterday, I believe, of moving this thread to it's proper forum here @androidforums.com? I personally
    do not know how to accomplish this.

    Finally, I want to send an email to you I received last week from HTC tech support for you, or anyone else that is able to view it. It contains a procedure that's purpose is / was intended to bring my phone back to it's Android state. I'm not certain I did it correctly, simply because it didn't work, either. The PC won't allow me to send the email as an uploaded file, so, may I be allowed to simply copy / paste the email in this thread?

    Anxiously awaiting your reply.
    JohnReesewannabe aka Tom
     
    Dannydet likes this.
  17. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,714
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,714
    14,911
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Ok, they must generate a download link in some way. The file I was trying to link is in the "evita" section of Androidruu.com, file name: http://androidruu.com/getdownload.p..._10.130.32.34_release_signed_With_Partial.exe

    Re email, if it's not stupidly long and has nothing personal or confidential then sure, copy and paste it here.

    As for moving posts, the simplest way is to use the report button and write in the report what it is you think should be done. That message gets sent to the moderator team, and they are the people who can do stuff like that.
     
  18. JohnReesewannabe

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016

    Jun 26, 2016
    10
    1
    26
    Male
    Hadron
    Here is the last email that came from HTC support. I tried their procedure the best I could, but it didn't work, either.

    Thank you for contacting HTC Technical Support again. I appreciate you have taken the time to write us.

    In this case if after the RUU process you still having problems with the Software, I will suggest you a special troubleshooting in order to solve this situation, because it has been successfully for several users, please read it and perform and at the end of the process just let me know how it goes.

    - WIPE CACHE PARTITION:
    1- Power down the device
    2- Please press and hold in the same time Volume up, volume down and power key until you get a special menu.
    3- Please find RECOVERY o REBOOT TO BOOTLOADER on the screen and navigate between the options with the volume keys and select pressing once power key.
    4- If you see Reboot to Bootloader, please select it and then go to Reboot to Recovery Mode.
    5- After that process you will receive on your screen a red triangle with an exclamation point (!), in this case you need to follow the next steps.

    - Press and hold volume up and without releasing it press once power key or press and hold power key and without releasing it press three times volume up.

    6- You will receive a new menu, please go to Wipe Cache Partition, select with power key and you will receive a message Wipe Cache Partition is Done or Complete, after that go to Reboot System Now and then you will rebooting the phone in a normal way just to verify the Bluetooth options.

    If you need further assistance or information about your process, do not hesitate to reply to this email or contact us...

    Thank you for choosing HTC! Have a great day!
     
  19. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,714
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,714
    14,911
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Yeah, that's just wiping the cache partition. Can help with some more minor problems, but I didn't think it likely in your case. Plus if you've done a factory reset then the cache has already been wiped.

    So what happens if you try to run the RUU?
     
  20. JohnReesewannabe

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016

    Jun 26, 2016
    10
    1
    26
    Male
    The wizard comes up, the window w/ the progress bar ( the bar is, 9 out of 10 times ) about halfway across as soon as that window comes up. Before the progress bar finishes, you get an error window that looks different, over the top of the wizard. I think it's part of the RUU, and it basically says that the phone and the PC aren't recognizing each other; some type of communication problem.
     
  21. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,714
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,714
    14,911
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    It's the first time I've heard anyone talk about wizards when describing an RUU, so I'll have to trust that is normal.

    If you have a communication problem, the phone is in fastboot mode and says "fastboot usb" on the screen, and using a different port/cable doesn't change anything, then my best guess is drivers. This is Windows, after all, so "driver problem" is usually a good guess. Unfortunately I'm not much of a Windows user, but this post might have some useful advice: http://androidforums.com/threads/adb-guide-updated-2014-11-11.443072/#post-6293611
     

Share This Page

Loading...