1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

PhysX on CPU or GPU?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Gavisann, Apr 5, 2011.

  1. Gavisann

    Gavisann Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011

    Mar 31, 2011
    290
    24
    38
    I am running a AMD Phenom II x6 1055T and a GTX 460. Should I run PhsyX on the CPU or GPU? Or in my case would it matter?
     

    Advertisement

  2. mplevy

    mplevy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    862
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    862
    135
    123
    New York, USA
    If you can offload it to the CPU you'll get better frame rates as it opens processing cycles on the GPU for graphics processing. I thought it was only available on the GPU so it may not be possible.
     
  3. Gavisann

    Gavisann Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011

    Mar 31, 2011
    290
    24
    38
    True, true. I'll test it out and see if I get a higher FPS. Yes, there is an option to set it to the CPU under the nvidia control panel.
     

Share This Page

Loading...