1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Pic Messaging Issues

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by yeotaJMU, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. yeotaJMU

    yeotaJMU Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    On the Gnex, stock.


    I can rarely send a picture message. The messages just time out and never go through. This is extremely frustrating for me because I used to spend a lot of Pic Messages.

    I can receive them no problem. I am currently using Handcent and it still hasn't helped the issue.


    Is this something that is going to get fixed? Is there a way I can fix it? Seems pretty dumb that I can't use my phone to send a pic message but I can stream HD NFL...
     

    Advertisement

  2. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    So it happens on Handcent and stock sms app and it has never worked or only seldom? Curious also, you have tried sending pictures while both ON and OFF WIFI?
     
  3. yeotaJMU

    yeotaJMU Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    I have sent maybe 3 successfully and tried easily over 30 times. 2 of those 3 randomly appeared 4 hours later on my friends phone, with like 5 copies of each (i retried when failed).

    Ive tried with Wifi, 3G, 4G. Doesn't seem to make any difference from what I can tell.


    I have gotten an occasionaly "Picture file too large, Resize?" So I click yes but it still doesn't go through.
     
  4. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    OK work with me. How many different recipients have you attempted to send a picture to and it failed?

    Can you send a test one right now to your own phone (just put in your #) and see if it makes it?
     
  5. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    I had this same issue on my OG Droid. It was frustrating and I never did get it fixed, however my daughter is using the phone now and it works just fine. My only thought is that it is actually a problem with your line. Have you tried calling VZW and seeing if Tech can help you?
     
  6. yeotaJMU

    yeotaJMU Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    OK-

    So it worked sending one to myself. It worked sending one to my brother sitting right next to me.


    Didn't work trying to send to 3 other friends. 1 lives in a rural middle of nowhere place about an hour from me, and 2 live 5 minutes away in suburbia.

    Haven't tried calling verizon yet, just been dealing with it.
     
  7. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    So maybe the issue isn't on your end and it could possibly be on the other end. I'd say if you keep having issues with this, especially sending one to yourself doesn't make it through, then calling VZ or going by your local store like ska.t73 mentioned would be in order.

    Hey, welcome to AF btw :)
     
  8. yeotaJMU

    yeotaJMU Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    Cool, thanks.

    I was mainly concerned if everyone was having this problem, or its just me. We have 4G here but its usually around 2 bars when I'm in my house. Maybe I'll try to experiment sending outdoors and around town where i get 4 bars.
     
  9. jkc120

    jkc120 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    2,266
    1,107
    313
    Senior Software Engineer
    El Dorado Hills, CA
    What carriers are the people on that it doesn't work to send to vs. the ones it works to send to? I wasn't certain from the way you described it, but are you seeing the "message send failed -- retry?" thing (iirc white circle with a red x in the handcent thread) or are they just never receiving it? I had problems sending to a friend via handcent (and the stock messaging app) to one particular friend on t-mobile. I could send find to anyone on VZW and another friend on AT&T (though he'd get it a few mins later than the VZW folks), and I could even send the MMS to another T-Mobile person, but for whatever reason occasionally I'd send an MMS to my friend and he'd never get it. No error on my end, he'd just never receive it.

    It sounds like in your case it's actually reporting an error. If it's happening in the stock messaging app as well, I agree with the other folks that a call to VZW (611) is in order. They should be able to help troubleshoot. :)
     
  10. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    Sending an MMS requires data/4G or 3G. Sending an SMS does not. Maybe your sending an MMS in a fringe area where the 4G is handing off to 3G and you get caught up in the mix. You can send an MMS with no bars on 3G or 4G. I just did today. Can't do it on "no signal" though. Keep us updated with your results
     
  11. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    That pretty much is exactly what would happen to me when I had this problem on the OG Droid.
     
  12. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    ^^this...

    i have the same problem at home. I'm in a fringe area. I think there are hand off issues between WiFi and 3G/4G. It seems to have gotten a little better when i put a 4.0.3 rom on but i even had this issue with my DroidX as well. Here at home...its very hard to send an MMS. I get them in fine. but sending them is a job.
     
  13. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,100
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,100
    415
    273
    TN
    and knowing what carriers the other people are on is a big one. some carriers won't accept MMS from VZW...
     
  14. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    298
    120
    68
    SW Missouri
    Having the same issue here. All receivers are people I could previously send pictures to without issues.
     
  15. teddyearp

    teddyearp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,411
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    2,411
    839
    233
    Store Manager
    Pinetop, AZ
    +1 ^^^ this. I have been having this problem on my A855 (OG Droid) for months now when trying to send to others on USCC and Sprint, but I live in such a fringe area that I would have to drive one way 65+ miles to get to a VZW 'home' area that I haven't bothered to go all the way with VZW CS via *611. However, I just tried the 'send it to myself' test as mentioned and it came through just fine.

    And just for kicks, I was at home on WiFi, during the send and receive, the phone showed the '1x' (yes, I am that far out) icon for a bit during both.

    So, long story short, it probably has nothing to do with your phone at all, it's the network(s).
     
  16. yeotaJMU

    yeotaJMU Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    Thanks for the responses guys.


    The fails I had were with 2 VZW users and one Sprint.


    If being in a fringe area could be a factor, its definitely possible. I am usually on 1 or 2 bars of 4G but occasionally in 3G- so I think I'm in between places. I didn't experiment sending messages out of the house today but will report back once I do
     
  17. jkc120

    jkc120 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    2,266
    1,107
    313
    Senior Software Engineer
    El Dorado Hills, CA
    If you're in a fringe 4g area try forcing 3g(cdma) and see if it helps at all.
     
  18. fusionta66

    fusionta66 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    I have the exact same problem as the OP
     
  19. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    298
    120
    68
    SW Missouri
    Mine just started working again normally all of a sudden at about 11pm CST. Might have just been a symptom of overall network issues today since some people were reporting earlier they were having issues with 4G (again). I did notice my phone dropping to 3G today when it would normally held a 4G signal. Who knows...
     
  20. mike420

    mike420 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    58
    2
    16
    This is def a issue eith the phone as many others are having same problem and the problem is worse tryin to do it over wifi
     
  21. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    298
    120
    68
    SW Missouri
    That doesn't necessarily mean its the phone though. The reason many people are reporting it could also point to network issues. And even though the message initiates from your phone connected tow WIFI it still has to go over the network to reach its destination.
     
  22. yeotaJMU

    yeotaJMU Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    OK- So i tried it today (though small sample size) out and about with 3G (turned 4G off)


    I was able to send a message to everyone no problem, except my GF who is the one who lives in a rural area. She definitely has signal issues out there (mountains and stuff), so its possible she just has a hard time receiving large file pic messages. Ill just send them to her via email instead.
     
  23. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ

    I can guarantee you it is not an issue with just this phone. As I stated earlier this used to happen to me on my OG Droid. It happened a few times on my TBolt, I have not had it happen at all on my GNex.
     
  24. Paul1201

    Paul1201 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    I live in a 4G/3G fringe area and was having a lot of issues with sending and receiving MMS messages. I finally upgraded to the new network extender from Verizon which has both voice and data capabilities. It works really well.
     
    jbdan likes this.
  25. fusionta66

    fusionta66 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    This happened to me again today. Sent a pic message, just says 'sending' forever. Even rebooted the phone completely, still the same. WTF????
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...