1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Picsay quality.

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by int3rpo1, Sep 7, 2010.

  1. int3rpo1

    int3rpo1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I just bought Picsay pro and love it! My DInc takes great pictures in the day, and my so-so night pics can now be fixed to look quite decent. Anyway, question is this. When I chose to get a picture to edit, it asked me what size I wanted for it. I chose maximum size and chose the option to always pick that size. I normally take pics in 8 megs, will a photo edited by Picsay be lower in quality than the original, or just about the same? Also, is there any way I can default the app to just ask me what size I want to edit pics in?(Rather than maximum size being the default)
     

    Advertisement

  2. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    Why not just edit a photo, ans see if the edited photo has a larger or smaller filesize than the original?
     
  3. int3rpo1

    int3rpo1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Oddly enough, it appeared to be bigger than the original. I would almost think the quality got better after editing. But I highly doubt that. Was hoping someone who knows can help me find the answer to my question. I'm sure there's plenty of photography hobbyists here that might know.
     
  4. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    Well it depends on how that program edits files. You can edit a 1mb file in photoshop, and when you resave it, it can be much larger or much smaller than the original, even if you keep the same file type (ie jpg). Even if the file is bigger than the original, it will NEVER be better quality. Garbage In, Garbage Out. You can re-save a file with low or no compression, but it wont look any better.
     
  5. int3rpo1

    int3rpo1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    So it's simply giving me the option for size, not quality, correct? I don't mind losing quality in proportions that the eye can't even distinguish.
     
  6. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    I'm not sure, I've never used that program. What options does it give you when you save?
     
  7. Harry2

    Harry2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,186
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,186
    1,347
    323
    Black Forest
    Resize your picture with PicSay Pro for maximum size.
    Then you will see with size the app has loaded your picture.
    It won't be 8MB any more.

    Harry
     

Share This Page

Loading...