1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Picture Messaging/ Text Messages

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kingjay2012, Sep 28, 2011.

  1. kingjay2012

    kingjay2012 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    334
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    334
    27
    43
    i know cricket should work right out the box with cm7 cricket which of course i have, but when i recently installed playful rom 09132011 none of my picture messages are barely going through or my text message, is there anything i can do to improve this and have it working?
     

    Advertisement

  2. kingjay2012

    kingjay2012 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    334
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    334
    27
    43
    i believe this posting has been up here for a week now, is there anybody that can help me plz?
     
  3. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    One way/compromise I've found that works for me is just sending the picture by itself,w/o any added text.When I try to add text w/an MMS,it usually comes out as scrambled gibberish on the receiving end.
    I know this isn't the best solution,but,I hope that this works for you.
     
  4. Can0dope

    Can0dope Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    511
    112
    93
    Hospitality
    Phoenix, AZ
    I have also heard (I don't remember where) that if you add a "Subject" to the message, it will work. Haven't tried it though, because I haven't had that problem this time around. Also, you might need to check your APN. Open Voice Dialer > say "Open APN's" > and make sure the radio button next to Cricket has a green dot.
     
  5. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,502
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,502
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    If you add a subject to a text it converts it to a MMS.
     
    Can0dope likes this.
  6. kingjay2012

    kingjay2012 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    334
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    334
    27
    43
    well it worked for one picture message and the other one has been sending for like 5 minutes now.... wtf! is it cm7 or is it my phone? how many people have this problem...
     
  7. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    I'm guessing it's a network issue,too many people in your area on CRICKET & basically a data traffic jam.
    I'm experiencing similar issues w/data,been getting gradually worse every month.A LOT of people have CRICKET ANDROIDS in my area,blame it on the economy,lots of people bargain hunting for a less expensive phone option + no upgrade in equipment to support the added data load.
    Just like the local gyms that continue to sell memberships & no expansion of the facilities to support the extra demand.

    I was gonna wait for the HUAWEI GLORY to come out(November),but,what's the point if the network is already oversaturated.

    I've decided to get the MOTOROLA PHOTON,root it, & take advantage of the REAL unlimited data & use it as my internet for the laptop.
    Sounds expensive,but,it's a bargain compared to the other BIG 3 & paying for a home/
    mobile broadband provider.ANNNNNNNNNND,no throttling after 1GB of 3G data.
     
  8. Can0dope

    Can0dope Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    511
    112
    93
    Hospitality
    Phoenix, AZ
    It could also be a bad flash... The first time I flashed CM7 I couldn't send MMS no matter what I did. It would just sit there saying "sending"... Reflashed and it's worked great ever since. Hope you get it worked out soon. Good luck.
     
  9. Gmash

    Gmash Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,912
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,912
    3,197
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    Do you live in a Sprint 4G area? If not, be wary of Sprint 3G speeds, they are slower than Cricket in a lot of places. As always, that varies wildly depending on where you live. If you're going with Sprint, why not get the Epic Touch? I do like the size and feel of the Photon, is the bootloader locked? I think the only phone I could live with for 2 years would be a Nexus phone. No playing the waiting game for updates. Even the Nexus One still gets updated. Also, you probably already know this, but just in case, be aware that Sprint recently changed their policies. The ETF went up to $350 from $200, and their return policy is now 14 days instead of 30. Great thing about the Photon is it's supposed to have very good reception compared to most phones. Best of luck with whatever you get, K-Man!

    PS- just wanted to add, don't forget about the flood of iPhone users that will soon be hogging bandwidth on Sprint. (of course, it won't be a problem for 4G, since the iPhone won't have Wimax.)
     
  10. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    Great 4G Coverage! Stopped everyone I've seen,stranger or not,& got their opinion on their experience w/SPRINT.Out of approximately 30 people(seriously,I did my homework on this one),all except one were overwhelming pleased w/data,call quality,& connectivity.
    Along w/the strong reception & excellent call quality of the PHOTON,(+ all the cool accessories available [dock,BLUETOOTH keyboard & mouse,monitor] ),& perhaps most important,great battery life(from what I've read],the PHOTON is a solid choice.http://www.motorola.com/Consumers/US-EN/Consumer-Product-and-Services/Mobile-Phones/MOTOROLA-PHOTON-4G-US-EN
     
  11. Gmash

    Gmash Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,912
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,912
    3,197
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    Agreed. Photon is a nice phone. If Sprint had 4g where I live, I would consider switching myself. (every time I go to the mall, the guys at Radio Shack try to slip a Sprint phone in my pocket lol) They stopped expanding their Wimax network and are going to roll out LTE, so maybe we'll get it down the road. Best of luck!
     
    KOLIO likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...