1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root (PimPmyRoM)LCD Pixel Density?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DsyMnapTic, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. DsyMnapTic

    DsyMnapTic Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,119
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011

    Apr 29, 2011
    1,119
    204
    153
    The rocky mountains
    Well since everyone else is pimping their ROM, I decided to check it out. I'm just wondering if any one has experimented with changing the pixel density on this device. What would you recommend as a value? And does it produce any noticeable results?
    I think that's about the only thing I don't know much about in that program besides dalvick virtual machine, which I didn't mess around with at all. Oh and the OOM groupings and MinFree values, I just set those to medium, but I'm not really sure what's best for those either.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Artine

    Artine Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,304
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012

    Jul 20, 2012
    1,304
    585
    213
    The Moon
    I don't know what OOM Groupings and MinFree values are, Dalvik VM for everyone should be at 64 (out of the box, it's 32, but 64 is the max the phone should ever have if the makers of games are good at what they do, and it just speeds up games noticeably otherwise), no more no less, and as far as LCD Density goes there is a difference, but every time I've ever changed it I've had either UI issues (menus broken, graphics and other things), app incompatibility issues, or Play Store incompatibility issues.
     
    DsyMnapTic likes this.
  3. snorge

    snorge Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    337
    14
    38
    I wouldn't recommend it, there are some neat things you can do but overall it distorts more than it improves.
     
  4. HaTrEd360

    HaTrEd360 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,363
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012

    Aug 18, 2012
    1,363
    167
    143
    Male
    I know the MinFree value is the minimum free memory of RAM your phone can have before it kills things I believe. Not entirely sure.
     
  5. Johnisherenow2

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013

    Jan 11, 2013
    146
    25
    43
    Male
    [​IMG]
    From the creator himself :thumbup:
     
    DsyMnapTic likes this.
  6. Johnisherenow2

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013

    Jan 11, 2013
    146
    25
    43
    Male
  7. DsyMnapTic

    DsyMnapTic Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,119
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011

    Apr 29, 2011
    1,119
    204
    153
    The rocky mountains
    I noticed in the xda forum just now that at the bottom of the zram section it says that the kernel has to include the module for the RAM compression to work. I'm guessing that we don't have that. That's one thing I really liked about cyanogenmod is that you could change ram compression with compcache. So if I'm right, using those settings in Pimp my Rom, as of right now does nothing? I mean I haven't noticed any increase in ram or anything, but I'm not really sure where to look.
     
  8. Johnisherenow2

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013

    Jan 11, 2013
    146
    25
    43
    Male
    Ram compression I think that's duel core processor's software.
     
  9. DsyMnapTic

    DsyMnapTic Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,119
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011

    Apr 29, 2011
    1,119
    204
    153
    The rocky mountains
    Nope, I was using it on the V as a built in feature of CM7 back when they called it Compcache and it worked beautifully and helped a lot.
     

Share This Page

Loading...