1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Pinch to zoom no longer working on HTC Desire

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DanielF, May 10, 2010.

  1. DanielF

    DanielF Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    12
    1
    16
    Dublin, Ireland
    Hi,

    I've had my Desire for about a week end enjoyed pinch to zoom in many applications over the first few days. Somehow the feature was disabled or removed and I struggle to enable it again. Other threads mentioned an update followed by a reboot. I'm not aware of any OS updates and I've done several reboots without any change to the issue. Also, these threads seemed to be US related and about other and slightly older phones.

    HTC Desire, firmware 2.1-update1, baseband 32.30.00.28U_4.05.00.11, software 1.15.405.4, Vodafone Ireland network, no visible branding, not rooted

    Please could someone point me how to re-enable pinch to zoom? Thanks a million!

    Regards
    Daniel
     

    Advertisement

  2. DanielF

    DanielF Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    12
    1
    16
    Dublin, Ireland
    I must correct myself. I did yet another reboot and this time I pinch to zoom functionality resumed working. I must have tried the wrong apps like Gmail where p2z isn't available anyway. The default browser, maps, and other apps are working again.

    Sorry for the confusion.
     
  3. Lol mahmood

    Lol mahmood Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    85
    9
    16
    My pinch to zoom has just suddenly stopped working! It was fine earlier today, now it's not. To zoom into a website I gave double tap. WTF?
     
  4. X-QlusioN

    X-QlusioN Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    19
    2
    16
    Belgium
    Check which apps you have installed...
    Had an app once which (if installed) disabled pinch to zoom anywhere...
    Don't know which one though
     
  5. Lol mahmood

    Lol mahmood Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    85
    9
    16
    I haven't installed anything new for a few days and it was working ok today until about an hour or so ago, when it suddenly stopped working.
     
  6. Lol mahmood

    Lol mahmood Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    85
    9
    16
    Rebooted phone and pinch to zoom is working again. If I wanted a buggy phone with crappy battery life I'd have bought a Nokia!
     
    Oduvan likes this.
  7. Oduvan

    Oduvan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I got same problem... After restart the phenomenon disappeared...
    Thanks!
     
  8. SurfXombie

    SurfXombie Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    69
    8
    16
    Yep had this and reboot fixed.
    It's a computer really not a phone, so reboot every so often seems to be expected.
     
  9. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    lol, well i have a spare nokia i'd be more than happy to exchange for your crappy phone, drop me a pm if interested :p
     
  10. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,825
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    1,825
    763
    213
    Medical Doctor
    Auckland, New Zealand
    This happened to me for the first time yesterday, rebooted immediately and fixed. Happened after installation of Swype, too bad Swype is too good to uninstall...
     
  11. Lol mahmood

    Lol mahmood Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    85
    9
    16
    offer me an iPhone 3gs and I might be interested, but I thought my post made it fairly clear that I think nokias are buggy! ;-p
     
  12. jauhari

    jauhari Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    You said Nokia and now Apple iPhone 3GS :thinking:
     
  13. Lol mahmood

    Lol mahmood Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    85
    9
    16
    that's right. If I wanted a buggy phone I'd have gone for a Nokia. This statement implies that I didn't want a buggy phone. When Lekky offered me an old Nokia in exchange for my desire (having clearly not understood that I don't want a buggy old Nokia) I replied truthfully (but also jokingly) that I might be interested in an iPhone 3gs (and, by implication, not a Nokia).

    Any more questions?


    I've just come to HTC and Android after about a decade of Nokia phones with good, sometimes great, specs but unreliable firmware. The desire hasn't been quite as bad yet, but I am a bit peeved by the odd little bugs, occasional crash and really crappy battery life.
     
  14. matttye

    matttye Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,939
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    1,939
    379
    163
    Senior Legal Secretary
    Lincoln, England
    Smartphones are computers, and just like computers they tend to work better after a restart. When a smartphone/computer has been left on for a long time lots of memory issues and other problems can occur that are cleared by a good old fashioned reboot.

    You should really reboot daily but I leave mine for about 4-5 days or until a problem occurs.

    No bug here, move along now :)
     
  15. Lol mahmood

    Lol mahmood Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    85
    9
    16
    So it's a software issue, right? The phone doesn't manage memory when kept on continuously. AFAIK, if that's an unintended issue, then it's a bug. It might be a very common bug, but it's still a bug.

    I've only had the desire for 2 weeks, and it's already crashed once, and now there's a bug in the browser. Apart from that, any texts my bank send me apparently come from one of my Facebook friends. That's due to another bug, unless someone has a different word for it.
    My macbook gets a lot of use, and is often either on or on standby/sleep mode continuously for weeks at a time (i use it, close it, carry it, use it, charge it, etc... It manages to not crash, the browser works fine and there's no confusion over contacts.
     
  16. comsense

    comsense Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    1
    0
    5

    Had the same problem after swype install, reboot fixed it and it hasn't come back.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...