1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Pipe character?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chicgeek, Apr 29, 2012.

  1. chicgeek

    chicgeek Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    40
    0
    35
    web designer and developer
    Vancouver
    A strange query for my fellow HOS owners:

    I can't seem to find the pipe character using the sliding keyboard. Is there some way I could map it to a key?

    (Ideally I'd be reinstalling Swype once they sort out the resolution issue...)
     

    Advertisement

  2. alpha0990

    alpha0990 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    550
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    550
    62
    78
    r u into the windows' command prompt? that mite explain y u want to use the pipe lol. wot part of the uk were u in? i'm in the midlands
     
  3. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    823
    Skaro
    I couldn't find any way to do what you were asking with the stock keyboard.

    I would recommend Swiftkey X.
     
    chicgeek likes this.
  4. chicgeek

    chicgeek Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    40
    0
    35
    web designer and developer
    Vancouver
    I haven't found a Swype apk that works on my device yet... A shame, but your solution might be my answer. Thanks mate!

    I use the pipe character as a separator for my Google Reader to Buffer to Twitter shares. It might sound ridiculous , but it's what I want and how I do things. And a regular pipe should be more accessible than some of the other characters the HTC keyboard has. Who the hell needs
     
  5. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    823
    Skaro
    Well, in that case there's also the Swiftkey 3 Beta and from what I have tested on it so far it seems pretty good. You can get it from here: SwiftKey VIP Forum. You have to sign up to get it, but it's free.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...