1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Pissing me off

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JewCurlz, Nov 17, 2010.

  1. JewCurlz

    JewCurlz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    SD
    Okay so i just rooted a few days ago. Put a cutom ROM on it (KaosFroyo v38). Ever since i rooted my battery dyes in about 3 to 4 hours. My phone says its awake 99.9% and the android OS is using 40-50% battery. Did i do something wrong? Is it possibly the ROM? if so how can i change to a new one?
     

    Advertisement

  2. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    There is apparently an issue with the V38 version of Kaos for most people that will be solved if you flash Conap's CFS V8 kernel over the Kaos build. Download it from here, copy it to the same place on your SD card where you installed Kaos, restart the phone in recovery, flash the file DecafuctCFSv8.zip over without doing a data wipe first. Before you restart the phone, go to the wipe menu and do a Dalvik cache wipe and restart the phone. Battery life problems should go away.

    Or, you can certainly try a different ROM. I prefer CELB Froyo and Nonsensikal to Kaos myself anyway.
     
    JewCurlz likes this.
  3. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    +1
    You seem to hear the most chatter about Kaos, but I prefer either of these also.
    I'm trying out FroShedYo now, it's working nicely also.
     
  4. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    FroShedYo reminds me completely of CELB with some aesthetic changes. The one thing I noticed is, that while I find the font in FroShedYo more attractive than the Android default, the normal and bold types of the font used are too similar, making it hard in the gmail app to distinguish between read and unread mail. Other than that, and that is completely subjective, I'll agree: it is a great choice for a stable Froyo ROM.
     
  5. JewCurlz

    JewCurlz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    SD
    How would I change to that ROM. Sorry kinda a noob
     
  6. kobel1up

    kobel1up Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    310
    16
    38
    student
    Miamisburg, ohio
    I have only used nonsensikal 10.8 and 12.5. I tried kaos and hated all the problems, I don't know if he is trying to do some stuff that is so new or cutting edge; if he is then awesome but it doesn't work on my phone. I have tried celeb and a few other ones and nonsensikal just works good for me and I like the look and feel of the rom. I am coming from the best 2.1 rom XtrRom and it takes a bunch to impress me, I have been on 12.5 for the past several days and love the performance. I get about 29 hours on my phone with heavy and moderate use.
     
  7. kobel1up

    kobel1up Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    310
    16
    38
    student
    Miamisburg, ohio
    Hook your phone to the computer, put the new zip file of the rom you want in the root of your sdcard. Don't stick it in a folder that is what people mean when they say root of sdcard. 2. power down your phone then start up into recovery, vol up and power button(the end button) 3. Make a nand back up third one down, click that then select nand backup. 4. do your wipe five down, wipe the data/factory reset, and wipe dalvik-cache. 5. fourth down flash zip from sdcard. Then select the zip you want to flash. This step will take a few minutes. After the flash reboot your phone it will take up to 10 minutes, then do your set up. Enjoy your new rom.:D
     
    JewCurlz likes this.
  8. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    That's pretty much what you should have done to get Kaos Froyo working. Just download CELB, Nonsensikal or FroShedYo from here: Droid Eris Android Development - xda-developers and follow those excellent instructions from kobel1up.
     
  9. JewCurlz

    JewCurlz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    SD
    okay so i never got nandroid. is it to late to get it? or should i get it

    edit: i used ROM manager to get KaosFroyo on my phone
     
  10. JewCurlz

    JewCurlz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    SD
    so im guessing i just put the rom on my sd card like you said. go into rom manager, do the idiot proof thing of clicking the two buttons and boom i have a new rom? then can i go in and delete the old one?
     
  11. kobel1up

    kobel1up Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    310
    16
    38
    student
    Miamisburg, ohio
    You want to go to recovery Not sure what you mean about the clicking the two buttons. You are already rooted so you don't need to do that step again. Just move the new rom zip to the sdcard root, do your wipes and then flash from the sdcard. Now about your other post you can nandroid any time before you wipe factory reset. You don't download anything from the market to do a nandroid backup.

    We will help you as much as you need to get you flashed right, as long as we have all the info.;)
     
  12. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    I suspect the reason that Kobel can't confirm the 'two buttons' is the same reason that I can't - we don't use ROM Manager, we always flash a new ROM through Recovery. I've seen ROM Manager and have a very basic understanding of what it does, but I've never used it. Ultimately your answer is to do again whatever you did to flash Koas (you don't have to root again, just the part where you flash a new ROM0. If that was ROM Manager and two buttons, then that should work. :)

    Edit: BTW, I'm not SURE what you mean by 'delete the old one'. If you mean delete the zip file then yes you can do that. If you mean delete the ROM off your phone so that it doesn't actually DO anything any more, then flashing a new ROM will take care of that for you.
     
  13. JewCurlz

    JewCurlz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    SD
    im talking about in ROM manager when you go to install ROM from SDcard. you choose the ROM and it has two buttons

    backup exsisting ROM
    and
    Wipe Data and Cache

    should i not backup my current ROM since i dont want it anymore. (btw when i went to kaosfroyo i did backup the standard ROM)

    edit: [​IMG]
    picture of the buttons
     
  14. JewCurlz

    JewCurlz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    SD
    ya i meant the zip file.

    btw guys thanks for all the help. Im new to all this and just dont wanna brick my phone haha
     
  15. kobel1up

    kobel1up Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    310
    16
    38
    student
    Miamisburg, ohio
    Check and see if you have a normal recovery. Shut off your phone, and then hold vol up and the end button at the same time for a few seconds. If you get to a screen with green print then that is amons recovery.
     
  16. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Thanks for the screen shot, that helps.
    Right - if you don't want to go back to the existing ROM, then don't do the backup. You'd only need to do that if you think you might want to go back to where you are now, but since you clearly don't like where you are now that's not an issue.
    Typically I have 3 or 4 'fall back' backups saved on my phone, each one a different ROM. That way if I have a problem with the one I'm on I can easily get my phone back to a known good state. It's not uncommon for me (and for many others I'm sure) to have a perfectly serviceable ROM on my phone and flash something different just to see what it's like. Under those circumstances I always make a backup first.
     
  17. JewCurlz

    JewCurlz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    SD
    hey thanks for the help guys. i decided to get nonsensikal 12.5. It's running great. much smoother and it doesnt drain battery. my phone is finally sleeping and the OS isnt draining my battery.

    Thanks again. You were all a lot of help. :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...