1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Pixel 2 or s8

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by bartjunited, Oct 30, 2017.

1. bartjunited

bartjunited Well-Known Member
    None

Nov 24, 2009
    Which of these 2 would you choose?

Main things to consider

Battery life
    What it does as a phone and multi purpose device if you use it a lot

Take a lot of pics and video

Storage issues.

Tia Bart

Advertisement

2. Hadron

Hadron  
    VIP Member

Aug 9, 2010
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I've no experience of the S8 beyond playing with them in shops. I've been using the Pixel 2 (smaller model) for a week. I'd note that the S8 is different in different countries: the North American moydel used a Qualcomm processor and a Sony camera sensor, the rest use a Samsung processor and sensor.

Battery life: all I can say is that I've found the Pixel 2 very good. Battery life really is individual: it depends on how you use the phone, what your coverage is like, how high you set the brightness, etc, so one person's experience is likely to differ from another's. But I've consistently got a full day's use with 7 hours screen on time with what I find a comfortable brightness, so I have no problems with it.

I don't know how to answer your second question, because it is too vague. What actually do you want it to do?

I don't like over-processed photos, so in that respect the Pixel is better as a camera for my tastes than the S8. But many people like Samsung's processing. I can only suggest you look at reviews, samples, and user's photos posted on the web, and decide for yourself which one you prefer (if either).

What sort of storage issues do you have in mind? The S8 has 64GB + SD expansion. The Pixel has no expansion, but has 64GB and 128GB options and comes with unlimited Google cloud storage for photos and videos. It really depends on your requirements.