1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Please explain How to use Terminal Emulator

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MikeAce00, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. MikeAce00

    MikeAce00 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    249
    30
    43
    I'm very intimidated by terminal emulator because I've never used such a thing and it seems like a powerful tool. Many of the roms I'm considering offer special scripts (like Overclock or switch apps) that I'd like to be able to use.

    Would someone mind sharing exactly step by step how to use terminal emulator to install a program or use a custom script. Are there settings in terminal emulator that I should adjust? Basically I open TE and see a blue screen (yes reminds me of BSOD). Then what.... just type the script instructions verbatim? After typing do I use the enter key to run? I'm looking at Fab's Apex Rom.... Maybe that will help give an idea as to what options/ scripts I'd like to be able to tinker with.

    Maybe a short video tutorial would help?...

    Thanks for sharing your knowledge.

    Mike
     

    Advertisement

    melissa.tompos likes this.
  2. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    You just type the commands as they are shown and press enter after each line. The biggest thing is to be sure you enter everything exactly as it appears, including any spaces.
     
    melissa.tompos likes this.
  3. Outlaw71

    Outlaw71 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,482
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Yeah I used it to type in the scripts after flashing OC and after hitting run the last time I was expecting it to take off and do something, but it didn't, it just sat there. So I wasn't even sure if it had done anything until I ran Quadrant and confirmed I was indeed over clocked.
     
  4. theineffablebob

    theineffablebob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    359
    51
    53
    It's very simple.

    For example,
    ...to install Swype.apk, make sure the file is on the root of your SD card and in terminal, type
    su
    install swype.apk

    Exactly like that.

    ...to turn off overclocking, just type
    su
    overclock -off

    If you already typed in su, you don't need to type it in again. You only have to type it in each time you re-open the terminal.

    To see all of the arguments for a specific command, type the command without any arguments.
    So you would type
    overclock

    to see the options for the overclock command.
     
  5. MikeAce00

    MikeAce00 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    249
    30
    43
    Ok okay its coming together for me... Waat about the "$" that begins each line? Do I ignore that?

    Outlaw- Yes I was waiting for it to take off and do something as well.

    Bob- You use the example of installing Swype. Does this method work for all .apk files? For example Could I install quickoffice.apk this way? Airmaxx had taught me in another thread to use root explorer and edit permissions reboot to install (Thank You again AirMaxx)

    I find it dificult sometimes because it seems like each apk needs to install a different way...
     
  6. theineffablebob

    theineffablebob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    359
    51
    53
    Yeah, I think the $ and # just tell you the start of the line.

    And I think install should work for all .apk files.
     
  7. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    The $ means you're running without su access
    The # means you're running with su access.
    To switch from $ > # type in su
     
  8. dave8311

    dave8311 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    37
    11
    18
    What he said ^
     
    bradhoschar likes this.
  9. jmsnyc

    jmsnyc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    44
    3
    16
    I am using Samsung Epic. Whenever I start Terminal Emulator it starts in the prefererences window and I cant figure how how to get back to the console screen. If I hit the back key it takes me to the home screen of my Epic???
     
  10. underrated

    underrated Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    have you tried pressing menu button?

    it may help because preferences window opens with menu button.
     
  11. Cosmo Pete

    Cosmo Pete Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012

    Jan 30, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    hello, i just bought a samsung stratospher and download the terminal Emulator app and then I type in the su command and is still shoing the symbol $. I followed the instructions below and it doesn't switch to the # sign.

    The $ means you're running without su access
    The # means you're running with su access.
    To switch from $ > # type in su
     
  12. Quasar79

    Quasar79 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012

    Feb 1, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    sry delete this my cat walked on enter button :)
     
  13. Quasar79

    Quasar79 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012

    Feb 1, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    to have su (SuperUser) access your phone must be rooted, if it is type in terminal:

    su root
     
  14. Garett

    Garett Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012

    Feb 13, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Hi, i had my phone bricked. but after flashing back stock rom with successful, "sd card removed.insert new one" pop ups. I try with rebooting, by removed the sd card and insert them back, but still pop ups same message. Please help! :(
     
  15. Cutecat42

    Cutecat42 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013

    Sep 5, 2013
    72
    2
    16
    Female
    California
    Hello. I'm trying to use the terminal, but typing su doesn't do anything for me. First time I type it in, it asks me if I want to grant SuperUser access, I grant it. Every other time I type it, I get a notification saying superuser has granted access to shell terminal...but it still doesn't change from $. Any ideas?

    EDIT: It was the terminal application I was using. Switched to a different one, and it worked fine.
     
  16. vinodrathod

    vinodrathod Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015

    Nov 15, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    hi sir . can you help me solving write secure settings permission . i rooted my nexus 5 marshmallow . then i installed android id changer . but it’s showing ” this app is showing the write secure settings permission , however i was unable to acquire it . please convert this app into a system app ” . i converted android id changer as system app . but it is still asking like that . please help me solving this . tell me about terminal emulator.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Loading...