1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

PLEASE HELP!!! About to give up on rooting my charge....

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by breeze785, Jul 7, 2014.

1. breeze785

breeze785 Lurker

Samsung Droid Charge FP8 v2.3.6

So I had a charge before but i broke it all to hell then I lost my new phone so I went back to a refurbished Charge, it meets my needs but I want to root so I can get rid of all the damn bloatware!!! So here is where i'm at..

Semi-noob here, Ive rooted a phone before (htc evo 3d) so im not a total noob but kinda yeah...

First of all my charge will not connect to a computer.....
    I have tried: multiple restarts of computer and phone; different USB cables; different computers; download drivers from samsung website; download drivers with PDAnet, USB debugging on/off, ask on connection/mass storage, still nothing....

The phone acts like its just plugged into the wall, no recognition on computer and no usb mount on the pull down menu....

So after that I tried different methods of root without a pc....
    I tried:
    Framaroot - says root is successful but after reboot, no supersu and root checker says no root.
    Masterroot (chinese) - same thing, get thru all the steps successfully but still no root
    flashing CWM thru Clockworck ROM manager - nope
    POOT - error [-] can't get a handle on it: -1 no such file or directory
    a demon materialized while pooting. Error code 18 su binary was not written.
    StoneBoyTony's universal method - get some error like signature missing or something like that, also downloaded his remove thinkfree office
    and followed the steps same error.
    Tried updating thru the stock recovery (grasping at straws) - supersu zip, gingerbreak zip, I got a couple others still no go....

PLEASE help me I dont know what else I can do I am about to give up... I know it is an old phone but I know it could work great for me if I could just get the damn thing rooted!!!!!