1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Please Help (I can not connect my PREVAIL)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ismoiljoni, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. Ismoiljoni

    Ismoiljoni Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Developer
    Uzbekistan-Tashkent
    Hi All.
    I can not connect my PREVAIL (Build: GINGERBREAD.EJO6) via QPST.
    My Prevail is not in ports list (look attach picture #1), i think there should be.

    I`he done:
    1. Select DM in the Data port menu (##7678# ...)
    2. Select USB in the PhoneUtil-DM menu (##8778#...)
    3. USB debugging enabled (checked)
    4. In the QPST Configuration
    a. Ports tab
    b. click "Add New Port".... (picture #2)

    No Phone :( (picture #3)

    PLEASE HELP.

    ps. sorry for my english
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    You have to use cdma workshop.
     
  3. Ismoiljoni

    Ismoiljoni Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Developer
    Uzbekistan-Tashkent
    I found the problem.
    We had turn off Airplane mode :D
    I did not know that in this mode can not see the COM port.
    so keep in mind.
     
  4. Ismoiljoni

    Ismoiljoni Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Developer
    Uzbekistan-Tashkent
    Hi All
    Within 20 days can not update PRL. QPST all the time displays a message "The phone has stopped responding to memory read/write commands." (attach #1). Many times repeated, no results.
    I have SPC code.

    Workshop all the time displays a message "... successfully has been written ...", but in the device does not change. (attach #2).
    SPC (and Samsung default password) is correct. Phone unlocked in the workshop.

    I am surprised at my phone chipset, it is Unknown in the Workshop.
    I see also unknown in the debug (##33284# > Configuration) menu. So it must be ? you all right ?
    problem because of this ? :(

    Please help me!!!

    p.s. no solution /Settings/About phone/System Updates/Update PRL. because no service (no signal).
     

    Attached Files:

  5. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    The fact you got qpst to open up service programming at all is a wow. I have added the port had it see the phone but before service programming opens it closes with unknown error.

    cdma workshop has worked though with no problems or few I should say. when the phone stops responding reboot the phone and reconnect. has always worked for me.

    could you have corrupted the /stl5 partition? does the phone now have unknown baseband and hardware? is it stuck in airplane mode?
     
  6. Ismoiljoni

    Ismoiljoni Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Developer
    Uzbekistan-Tashkent
    QPST - there is only one problem: "The phone has stopped responding to memory read/write commands." at write to phone (and read from phone)
    Workshop - at the read "Failed to read - Access denied", and at the write PRL successfully, but not working.
    After successfully written phone should be automatic reboot ?

    stl5 partition -
    adb shell
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    $ su
    su
    # dd if=/dev/stl5 of=/sdcard/cdma.rfs
    dd if=/dev/stl5 of=/sdcard/cdma.rfs
    17920+0 records in
    17920+0 records out
    9175040 bytes transferred in 1.108 secs (8280722 bytes/sec)
    # dd if=/sdcard/cdma.rfs of=/dev/stl5
    dd if=/sdcard/cdma.rfs of=/dev/stl5
    17920+0 records in
    17920+0 records out
    9175040 bytes transferred in 2.193 secs (4183784 bytes/sec)

    read/write is OK.
    http://androidforums.com/galaxy-pre...ck-airplane-mode-permanently.html#post3832934

    /dev/block/stl5 also is ok.
    my phone stuck airplane mode permanently ? how to know ?

    p.s. ok, ok i know that is not the thread.
     
  7. MonkeySchool

    MonkeySchool Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012

    Feb 27, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Male
    web designer, gizmo builder, cnc programmer, marke
    Windy City NW Suburbs
    could you have corrupted the /stl5 partition? does the phone now have unknown baseband and hardware? is it stuck in airplane mode?[/QUOTE]

    YES YES and YES to all of the above. I have tried nothing and I'm almost out of ideas... Joking. PLEASE HELP.
    I have a backup of the phone done with CWM5 however its been done after the dreaded failure.:thinking:
     
  8. kolosus

    kolosus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    923
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010

    Oct 12, 2010
    923
    341
    113
    PA/NJ Usa
    YES YES and YES to all of the above. I have tried nothing and I'm almost out of ideas... Joking. PLEASE HELP.
    I have a backup of the phone done with CWM5 however its been done after the dreaded failure.:thinking:[/QUOTE]
    If you corruputed the stl5 partition, nothing you can do will help. CWM5 makes back ups of the OS. stl5 is beneath that and CWM doesn't make a backup of that portion of the phone. You're screwed. If you cannot make calls with the phone get in touch with Samsung and claim warranty. They'll help you out. They are the only ones with the necessary tools to fix the stl5. Good luck.
     
    MonkeySchool likes this.
  9. kolosus

    kolosus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    923
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010

    Oct 12, 2010
    923
    341
    113
    PA/NJ Usa
    If you can make phone calls from the phone then your phone is not stuck in airplane mode. You should also see signal bars next to the clock in the status bar. If it is stuck in airplane mode your signal bars might have an x next to it or no signal bars at all and an airplane instead.

    As for the phone. Connect to it with CDMA WS. Send the Samsung (default) password. The phone will accept it. After that everything will be easier. Just remember that if it reboots then you'll have to send the default password again.

    You can also read the efs partition with qpst's efs explorer. Changing it is a risky process though. Sometimes it works and sometimes it'll lock the phone's radio. Just make sure that any file you change in there you have the original of.

    Good luck.
     
  10. MonkeySchool

    MonkeySchool Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012

    Feb 27, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Male
    web designer, gizmo builder, cnc programmer, marke
    Windy City NW Suburbs
    Thanks KOLOSUS.
    It has been 2 years and the phone has been sitting in my OLD cells bin for years, but just wanted to THANK you for the response.
     

Share This Page

Loading...