1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Please Help - I don't know what to do

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by andpete1, Sep 18, 2011.

  1. andpete1

    andpete1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    13
    0
    15
    Hey everyone, I got stuck while using the revolutionary method. I followed the video exactly, and the revolutionary program crashed (just like on the video), but when I went to re-run it, now I'm "waiting for device" and it's not doing anything. My phone says "s-off" at the top, and I'm at the bootloader screen.

    What do I do?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. andpete1

    andpete1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    13
    0
    15
    So, I rooted, using revolutionary, everything was great. Then I went to upgrade the radio, and I thought everything went great. The phone rebooted, and my home screen popped up, then the phone rebooted again... It's been stuck continuously rebooting and I can't get it to stop.

    And as an added bonus, I finally got inside the clockworkmod recovery screen, and instead of clicking recover, I clicked backup....

    So now I have no idea what to do, and something is being backed up.

    Please give me some direction, I am at a loss on what to do.
     
  3. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Which radio did you flash?

    Which ROM were you using before flashing the radio, or were you stock?
     
  4. andpete1

    andpete1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    13
    0
    15
    just stock.

    an mr2 radio i got off the radio thread.
     
  5. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    You can try rebooting and see if you have superuser access (root)
     
  6. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Ok, is it done backing up? Try rebooting and see if you still have issue. Did you check and double check the md5 sum of the radio before flashing it?
     
  7. andpete1

    andpete1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    13
    0
    15
    No i didn't check the md5. I am just looking into that now. do I check the md5 of both the files in the zip folder?

    thank you so much for helping me.
     
  8. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    The whole zip

    edit: if you're still bootlooping d/l and flash one of these ROMs (debloated or bloat) after doing a full wipe in recovery http://rootzwiki.com/showthread.php?3247-ROM-FLASHABLE-2.10.605.1-Debloat-Bloat-Stock-w-Root-Options-NOW-WITH-MIRRORS! This is the newest leak available and will be stock sense, just with root access.

    If you're still looping after that, triple check the md5's of the mr2 radio and if they're correct flash it again. Although, not to overwhelm you, but I would suggest flashing the 3rd GB radio package from here instead http://androidforums.com/thunderbolt-all-things-root/399960-radios-recoveries-hboot.html
     
    trapperjohn likes this.
  9. andpete1

    andpete1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    13
    0
    15
    And how do I do that?

    check the md5 sums? not flashing, i understand that part.
     
  10. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    No offense, but you shouldn't be flashing files in hboot if you don't know how to check an md5 sum. Hboot isn't something to screw around with and if you flashed a bad radio you could be in serious trouble. That's why in the radio thread there are md5's listed. Now that I got that out of the way download this https://market.android.com/details?id=sa.afv&feature=search_result
     
    Scrillex and scotty85 like this.
  11. andpete1

    andpete1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    13
    0
    15
    Ok. Thanks for your help. You're right that I shouldn't be doing this, but I'm here now and I have to fix this. I'm waiting for the debloated rom to download.

    I guess I'll just let you know how that goes.

    Thanks again.
     
  12. andpete1

    andpete1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    13
    0
    15
    Ok. I flashed the 3rd GB radio (after checking the md5 - it matched). And now my phone is no longer rebooting. Thank you so much!

    And also, I assume this means I no longer need to flash the debloated rom you told me to download?
     
  13. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    You're welcome. You don't have to flash it unless you want to. Totally optional
     
  14. andpete1

    andpete1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    13
    0
    15
    Is there a way to verify the radio version, so that I may see that it truly worked?
     
  15. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    menu>settings>about phone>baseband version match it up to the 3rd GB radio in the radio, recoveries and hboot thread
     
    andpete1 and scotty85 like this.

Share This Page

Loading...