1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Please help! Issues rooting TB with revolutionary :(

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ickyjk, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. ickyjk

    ickyjk Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    8
    5
    6
    Hey all,

    I'm having issues rooting my TB using the revolutionary method

    I did do the OTA update when it came out
    However, I did downgrade back to previous version as I read could be the issue in other threads

    Here's where I'm at now....

    Mount phone as disk drive with USB debugging on

    Run revolutionary. It asks yes or no for clockworkmod. I say yes

    Everything goes smooth. I reboot into bootloader

    This is where the issue comes in

    Normally I press recovery and it takes me to clockworkmod where I can flash superuser

    Instead I press recovery and it goes to a screen with the red triangle

    I rooted my previous TB without the update just fine

    This TB I did the update and now I can't root

    Any help would be greatly appreciated

    Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement

  2. photondev

    photondev Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    80
    3
    16
    I went through the same yesterday, and I was able to root after doing some research. In my case, and I suspect and in yours also is that the clockworkmod was not really being put on the SD card. I downloaded it to my pc, renamed it and put it on the sd card. Then hbooted and it updated it. Let me find the instructions, I did that at work and don't have the history.
     
  3. ickyjk

    ickyjk Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    8
    5
    6
    Doesn't revolutionary put the clockworkmod recovery on your sd card for you?

    How would I go about doing this manually?
     
  4. ickyjk

    ickyjk Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    8
    5
    6
    In the bootloader menu it says S-OFF already

    Does this help?
     
  5. photondev

    photondev Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    80
    3
    16
    hold on - looking for the links
     
  6. photondev

    photondev Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    80
    3
    16
  7. photondev

    photondev Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    80
    3
    16
    1. download on of the clockworkmod recoveries from the link above
    2. rename it to PG05IMG.zip
    3. save it on the sd card
    4. hboot and install it

    I also had to clear all data and cache because my phone was looping
     
  8. ickyjk

    ickyjk Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    8
    5
    6
    Sorry I'm a little confused here...

    Earlier I renamed a zip file to that exact file name and loaded it to my sd card

    This put my TB back to how it was before the OTA update

    Am I downloading a different file but naming it the same?

    That's probably a stupid question but I just wanna understand what I'm doing lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...