1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Please Help. Lost WIFI radio after root

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jsny, Sep 12, 2011.

  1. jsny

    jsny Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    i FINALLY rooted after owning the evo since launch day, and everything went ok, ALMOST.

    i followed this guide:
    How to gain S-OFF and then root the latest Gingerbread OTA for HTC EVO 4G

    i flashed the stock rooted rom with the wireless-N bug fix. ever since then, wifi won't start up? HOW DO I GET WIFI BACK?? one of my main motivations to root was to use wifi tethering =( i also tried to find my nandroid back up to restore, but it said it couldn't find the file???

    any help would be much appreciated.

    thx
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    what does it do? does it see your router? have you tried to unplug your router? you may want to try a kernel as well. most of them also will have the wireless n fix as well. try the freedom kernel or golden monkey.
     
  3. jsny

    jsny Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    on my EVO phone, i hit the "wifi" radio button to turn it on and it just blinks once real quickly and won't engage. turning wifi "on" on the phone is my problem.
     
  4. lubberlick

    lubberlick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    244
    138
    68
    American English Speaking Taxi Guy
    Indianapolis
    do you have a nandroid of before the wireless-n fix? If so i would try to restore to said nandroid and see if things are working.
     
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    also try and wipe dalvik cache and cache. and maybe try and re-flash the rom as well.
     
  6. jsny

    jsny Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    I did an nandroid backup, but when i went to restore and it said file not found???


    how do i clear the dalvik cache?
     
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    did you rename the file?
    if you are in clockwork mod dalvik cache is found under advanced.
     
  8. stewdog1

    stewdog1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    48
    4
    36
    Did you install a new kernel? If so, did you use the right one?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...