1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Please help me with an issue

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by lilutosh, Sep 17, 2011.

  1. lilutosh

    lilutosh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    hey guys! i'm new here and i want to tell you about a problem i have with my gf's phone,i can't seem to manage it properly

    first of all, the phone it's a samsung gt i5800

    the problem is that : when i first bought it , it had some issues with the network or something and the internet was not working but the wifi connections and the downloads from the marked within wifi were working, 2 days ago i went to my carrier operator and they fixed the settings i needed for it and now i can browse the internet

    the issue is that , at start when i got it, i got a wifi network, got intro the market and started downloading things... now the issue is that those things are still loading somehow :-?? but never ever finish.. it's a really anoying thing because i can't actualy install anything and there's a orange bubble with a number what increased to 199 last night still poping in the left corner of the screen ...


    can you guys please but please help me fix it ? than you !
     

    Advertisement

  2. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,164
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,164
    4,832
    1,108
    Male
    Probably an error of sorts in connection. This usually happens to me when my mobile internet connection is fluctuating. I've reached about 29 downloads even if I was only downloading 4 apps. What I do is set my internet connection to hsdpa only and leave it overnight. Downloading is usually finished by morning.
     
  3. Chuck O. Jones

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011

    Sep 4, 2011
    211
    11
    38
    Better make sure you do/did all that on WiFi, or you may have to declare bankruptcy when the bill comes...
     
  4. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,164
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,164
    4,832
    1,108
    Male
    I have an unlimited data plan with a fixed rate. I already enquired about it and they flat out told me that the network doesnt care if I get to download 1tb within 1 month, or if I tether my phone, but my bill would remain the same, about $25 for unlimited data usage. :D


    As for the OP, if you dont have a data plan, make sure that the wifi you are connecting to is fast, reliable and will not be turned off. It is important that YOU DO NOT DISCONNECT during the duration of the download.
     
  5. Chuck O. Jones

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011

    Sep 4, 2011
    211
    11
    38
    I also have an "unlimited" dataplan. But when I used my phone as a hotspot for my laptop for 4 hours in one month streaming video I received a stern warning a couple weeks later that I had exceeded their "fair use policy". I.o.w. I was exceeding "a" limit, or cap. But when you inquire what that limit or cap – their 'fair use policy' – actually is you don't get an answer...

    That's convenient for the provider (and very devious) because if they don't publish the limits of that 'fair use policy' but keep them internal they can change those figures overnight, or even every day anew, as it suits them, without being called to account, and suck you dry!

    Needless to say I'll get a another type of account, and possibly another telco, soon. An account with clear limitations!
     
  6. lilutosh

    lilutosh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    The issue is now that i only can choose between gsm or wcdma or both. What should i do? That nr increased now to 206... Whay should i do guys?
     
  7. lilutosh

    lilutosh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    + my carrier told me i should install appkiller for getting rid of those downloading stuff but if i try to download something the market app shows a white blank page like a crash or something and sends me to the main page of it..
     
  8. lilutosh

    lilutosh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Guys? Can you help me?
     
  9. Chuck O. Jones

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011

    Sep 4, 2011
    211
    11
    38
    Knowing as much as you I would select both...

    Is it downloading via WiFi or via mobile phone connection? If the latter I would kill it immediately because that could get very expensive. And get to a service point with the phone.
     
  10. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,164
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,164
    4,832
    1,108
    Male
     
  11. lilutosh

    lilutosh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    i left it connected to a wifi network but it's just like it's frozen, nothing moves, things keep showing "downloading " status and just that, nothing more... i just want to kill all those downloads and things, it's so annoying to see them downloading and i want to be able to download app to my phone ...
     
  12. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,164
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,164
    4,832
    1,108
    Male
    It doesnt move because the phone thinks its downloading 209 apps. If we put around 2mb per app, thats more than 400mb, enough to be a movie. 1% is a pretty large number for it. I guess the only way is to either wait for the downloads, or reformat the phone.
     
    lilutosh likes this.
  13. lilutosh

    lilutosh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    how can i reformat the phone ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...