1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

please help. MHL HDMI adapter not working

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by greg schmeg, Jun 21, 2013.

  1. greg schmeg

    greg schmeg Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    531
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012

    Oct 8, 2012
    531
    157
    93
    Male
    Orlando FL
    Today I bought a MHL Micro USB to HDMI adapter from fry's electronics.
    Here is the link: FRYS.com*|*Micro Connectors

    On the package it says its compatible with epic 4g touch.
    Very simple instructions on the back that I followed. Says to plug HDMI into adapter first. Then it says to plug in your power source to the adapter which is micro USB. I tried my phone charger with regular Samsung issue ac to DC adapter. Then lastly plug in micro USB side of adapter into phone. I'm also trying this on a Samsung HDTV. I know HDMI cable is good and so is TV. On right input channel. So this is what happens:

    After my HDMI cable has been inserted into the adapter and before I plug in a power source, the TV acts as if the end of the cable hasn't been plugged into anything. It is a blank screen that reads Check Signal Cable. After I've plugged in my micro USB power source to the adapter, the TV screen now reads "check connected devices power, cable connection, and source selection.". Then if I plug the adapter into my phone it doesn't change at all from this screen. So....

    First obvious thing to do for me was to try a different power adapter. I tried my phones charging cable with a ps3, Xbox, and DVR box which I use to charge my ps3 controllers. No difference. Same result.

    I looked in my phone settings but didn't see anything.

    I'm not on stock ROM. Is this my problem? Im on bakes blackbean. What am I doing wrong here? Many thanks to anyone with experience with this adapter who thinks they know the issue.

    Almost forgot:
    When the adapter has power to it and I plug my phone to the adapter, my home screen which is normally always forced upright turns sideways as if to format itself to the TV. Phones acts as if it should be working... But nothing.


    Update: just tried a different, better TV and same results. Very discouraging. I'm guessing its my ROM? Has anybody ever used baked black bean with this mhl HDMI adapter?
     

    Advertisement

  2. oamilcar

    oamilcar Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    383
    257
    88
    Male
    Hospital
    Worcester,MA
    I'm on stock rom and no issues w/hdmi adapter... So maybe the rom you're running don't support hdmi adapter.
     
    greg schmeg likes this.
  3. Doc

    Doc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,784
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012

    Aug 4, 2012
    1,784
    1,462
    313
    Male
    IT Infrastructure Operations
    Portland OR
    Yep exactly.. I would check and make sure it will work with your rom....
     
    greg schmeg likes this.
  4. greg schmeg

    greg schmeg Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    531
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012

    Oct 8, 2012
    531
    157
    93
    Male
    Orlando FL
    Ok its official: baked blackbean does not support the use of an mhl hdmi adapter. I had to go to gc01 to make it work. Man I cant really stand TW but I need certain things to work.
     
  5. Doc

    Doc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,784
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012

    Aug 4, 2012
    1,784
    1,462
    313
    Male
    IT Infrastructure Operations
    Portland OR

    I switched to a TW(don't tell Code lol) im running project x 2.0, give it a try it works flawlessly..........;)

    I love Slim but your right, there are a some issues in the ASOP roms, try Project, you wont be disappointed.................
     
    bilgerryan and greg schmeg like this.
  6. greg schmeg

    greg schmeg Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    531
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012

    Oct 8, 2012
    531
    157
    93
    Male
    Orlando FL
    Ill do that. Thx for the tip. This stock rom is pretty boring
     
  7. Doc

    Doc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,784
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012

    Aug 4, 2012
    1,784
    1,462
    313
    Male
    IT Infrastructure Operations
    Portland OR
    LOL yes it is.............:rolleyes:
     
  8. HiredxGunz

    HiredxGunz Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012

    Aug 5, 2012
    166
    65
    73
    Male
    San Diego
    Since you posted this publicly. I think he knows. Hehe. ;3
     
  9. bilgerryan

    bilgerryan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    312
    Joined:
    May 29, 2013

    May 29, 2013
    312
    388
    88
    Just to save you guys some time... HDMI Out does not work on any AOSP ROM for this device currently... Gotta go TouchWiz, that's why I switched to making TouchWiz ROMs, cuz I couldn't get it to work on AOSP.
     
    greg schmeg and Doc like this.
  10. wcming

    wcming Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011

    Oct 26, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Same problem .... with ASOP ...

    Let me try to restore to stock rom and try. Thanks.

    Um... do you guys have stock rom download link for i9100 ? thanks in advance
     

Share This Page

Loading...